Sweet Charles - Charles Cherell - For Sweet People From Sweet Charles (1974)

Sweet Charles - Charles Cherell - For Sweet People From Sweet Charles (1974)
Sweet Charles* ‎– For Sweet People
Label:People Records ‎– PE 6603

A supremely fantastic album, and one that’s always woefully overlooked in discussions of James Brown’s incredible People label! Sweet Charles, Charles Sherell, was a great lost soul vocalist who had a voice that was warm and mellow, with a sweetness that was often missing from James’ singing – but which sounded great with his arrangements and production. Fred Wesley and Dave Matthews arranged this one and only album, and the record’s a great blend of sweet soul tracks, funky numbers, and other stellar grooves. There’s a killer version of “Soul Man“, that begins with a very tasty break; the monster “Yes, It’s You“, which has a sweetly sliding intro that’s ripe for sampling; the righteous political “Why Can’t I Be Treated Like A Man“‘; and lots of other nice ones too!

A1 Strangers in the Night 3:32
A2 Soul Man 2:57
A3 Dedicated to the One I Love 3:55
A4 I’ll Never Let You Break My Heart Again 3:22
B1 Why Can’t I Be Treated Like a Man 4:03
B2 I Like It Like That 3:18
B3 Give the Woman a Chance 3:33
B4 Yes It’s You 3:02
B5 Outa Sight – Outa Mind 3:33

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here
Cloud Storage - You need to upgrade to premium to download. Buy a premium account