Complete your record collection. Discover artist full discography

Oscar Peterson - A Night In Vienna (2004)

Oscar Peterson - A Night In Vienna (2004)

• Genre : Videoclips, Concerts, Movies
• Year : 0
• Label :
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    

Release code: ODI3020817 Added on 27-10-2014, 19:39
You want this album? link doesn't work? report us from your account!

Release Info: Oscar Peterson - A Night In Vienna (2004)

Oscar Peterson - A Night In Vienna (2004)
Oscar Peterson - A Night In Vienna (2004)
DVD9 | NTSC 16:9 (720x480) VBR Auto Letterboxed (Anamorphic Widescreen) | Audio: Dolby AC3, 5 ch; Dolby AC3, 2 ch | 5% Recovery | 6.64 GB
Jazz | Length: 01:32:01 |Links are interchangable

Oscar Peterson has continued to fill concert halls -- for good reason -- following his return after a serious stroke in 1993. This 2003 concert, videotaped at the Musikverein in Vienna, shows a packed house enthusiastically applauding the veteran pianist and his quartet, which includes old friends Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen on bass, drummer Martin Drew, and the relative youngster of the group, guitarist Ulf Wakenius. In spite of the damage the stroke did to Peterson's once powerful left hand, which is most evident in the close-up shots of the keyboard, he has hardly lost his ability to swing hard; he simply relies more heavily on his right hand and the strong support of his group. The 11 songs from this concert are dominated by Peterson's originals, including old favorites like his gospel-inflected "Hymn to Freedom" and "Wheatland" (from his Canadiana Suite) and new works like the tender ballad "When Summer Comes." Add the dash through "Sweet Georgia Brown" (with the hot licks of Wakenius) and a standard like "Falling in Love With Love," and it is easy to understand why the proud pianist earned a standing ovation. Bonus selections on this DVD include a well-crafted nearly hourlong documentary of Peterson's life. Christopher Plummer was an inspired choice as narrator; not only was he a fellow Canadian and star of the film The Silent Partner (for which Peterson composed and recorded the soundtrack), but he also attended the same high school simultaneously with the pianist. There's also a brief film about the making of Bösendorfer pianos, long Peterson's instrument of choice, along with a complete discography of his recordings for Verve over the years. The production of this DVD is first class in every way, as are the quartet's performances.

Oscar Peterson - A Night In Vienna (2004)


Set One:
1. Falling In Love With Love 5:45
2. Night Time 8:50
3. When Summer Comes 7:13
4. Cakewalk 8:28
5. Requiem 8:50
6. Sushi 8:38

Set Two:
7. Wheatland 10:04
8. The Backyard Blues 10:04
9. Satin Doll 10:12
10. Sweet Georgia Brown 8:24

11. Hymn To Freedom 7:56

Bonus Features:
1. Keeping The Groove Alive: The Life And Times Of Oscar Peterson 53:02
2. Bosendorfer – The Making Of The World’s Greatest Instrument 15:22
3. The Complete Oscar Peterson On Verve Discography
4. Photographic Journey Of Vienna

Oscar Peterson: Piano
Neils-Henning Orsted Pedersen: Bass
Ulf Wakenius: Guitar
Martin Drew: Drums

#hashtags: Oscar, Peterson, Night, In, Vienna, 2004

2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, Album, albums, and, Band, best, Blues, Chill, Chillout, Club, Collection, Dance, Disco, Discography, Edition, Flac, from, HDTV, Hits, House, In, Jazz, Live, lossless, Lounge, Love, Music, Of, Original, Rock, Soul, The, VA, Various, Vinyl, Vol