Complete your Various record collection. Discover artist full discography

VA - Love Is The Song We Sing - San Francisco Nuggets (4CD Box Set) (2007)

VA - Love Is The Song We Sing - San Francisco Nuggets (4CD Box Set) (2007)


• Genre : Rock Soft Melodic Aor Indie
• Year : 2007
• Label : Rhino Records
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    

Release code: ODI3006796 Added on 13-02-2017, 07:00
You want this album? link doesn't work? report us from your account!

Release Info: VA - Love Is The Song We Sing - San Francisco Nuggets (4CD Box Set) (2007)

VA - Love Is The Song We Sing - San Francisco Nuggets (4CD Box Set) (2007)
Artist: VA
Title: Love Is the Song We Sing: San Francisco Nuggets 1965–1970 (4 CDs Box Set)
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: Rhino Records
Genre: Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Garage Rock

Product Description
Rhino's Love Is The Song We Sing: San Francisco Nuggets 1965-1970 4-CD Box Set Celebrates The 40th Anniversary Of "The Summer Of Love" Forty years ago the world turned its ears toward San Francisco as a wave of talented bands gave birth to the American counterculture. On August 27, Rhino remembers that magical confluence of time and place with LOVE IS THE SONG WE SING: SAN FRANCISCO NUGGETS 1965-1970, a 4-CD box set of classics and rarities from the golden age of Golden State rock. SAN FRANCISCO NUGGETS is the last word on one of popular music's defining regional scenes -- though as scenes go, the music it produced is remarkably diverse. The 77 tracks heard here share little beyond an artistic adventurousness long encouraged in the City by the Bay (which was a magnet for free thinkers from the days of the Beats. Seismic Rumbles, as the first CD of SAN FRANCISCO NUGGETS is subtitled, maps the fault lines separating the pop sounds of the early 1960s from more adventurous rock inspired by the arrival of The Beatles and Bob Dylan. By mid-decade, most of the pieces were in place for what would soon be called "The San Francisco Sound," and Disc 1 features the pre-Grateful Dead group The Warlocks, the original line-up of the Jefferson Airplane, a pre-hit Grass Roots, influential existentialists The Charlatans, and Country Joe & The Fish posing that timeless question "And it's one, two, three, what are we fighting for?"
It wasn't all peace, love, and drugs that made San Francisco the fulcrum of the burgeoning hippie scene in the mid '60s. According to this sprawling 77-track, four-disc set--the third in Rhino's ongoing Nuggets series--it was the music that nurtured and helped create Haight-Ashbury. This expansive package succeeds in presenting the disparate acts involved in that cultural revolution through a detailed aural exploration. Sure, the usual suspects like the Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Quicksilver Messenger Service, and Janis Joplin are here, but it's the obscurities and oddities--some never previously available and many more extremely difficult to find--that provide intimate glimpses into the crevices, building blocks, and influences of what was later dubbed the "San Francisco Sound." The platters are broken down into rough category/chronological groupings, with disc three focusing on 1967, the Summer of Love whose 40th anniversary this box's release celebrates. Even there, acts such as the Ace of Cups, the Mystery Trend, and the Loading Zone fly way below the radar. There's lots to absorb, even for genre enthusiasts, but compiler Alex Palao's extensive, track-specific liner notes provide concise yet vital contextual background to guide the listener through a wildly diverse landscape that runs from the British Invasion-styled pop of the Beau Brummels and the soft folk of the Youngbloods to the furious garage psychedelia of the Count Five and the eardrum-bursting, proto-metal power rock of Blue Cheer.

CD1 - "Seismic Rumbles"

01. Dino Valenti - Let's Get Together (3:01)
02. Country Joe and the Fish - I Feel Like I'm Flying to Die Rag (EP version) (2:44)
03. We Five - You Were on My Mind (2:37)
04. The Charlatans - Number One (4:06)
05. The Warlocks - Can't Come Down (3:01)
06. The Beau Brummels - Don't Talk to Strangers (2:21)
07. The Vejtables - Anything (1:58)
08. Jefferson Airplane - It's no Secret (2:30)
09. The Mystery Trend - Johnny was a Good Boy (2:37)
10. The Great! Society - Free Advice (2:07)
11. The Grass Roots - Mr Jones (A Ballad of a Thin Man) (2:55)
12. Blackburn and Snow - Stranger in a Strange Land (2:30)
13. Quicksilver Messenger Service - Who Do You Love (Demo Version) (5:57)
14. The Mojo Men - She's My Baby (3:02)
15. The Wildflower - Coffee Cup (2:18)
16. The Family Tree - Live Your Own Life (2:54)
17. The Sons of Champlin - Fat City (3:04)
18. The Francis - Human Monkey (2:09)
19. The Tikis - Bye Bye Bye (Warner Bros. Single Version)Track 19 (2:46)
20. Country Joe and the Fish - Section 43 (EP Version) (6:44)
21. The Sopwith 'Camel' - Hello Hello (2:25)

CD2 - "Suburbia"

01. Count Five - Psychotic Reaction (3:08)
02. The Front Line - Got Love (1:44)
03. The Mourning Reign - Satisfaction Guaranteed (2:19)
04. The Oxford Circle - Foolish Woman (2:32)
05. The Stained Glass - My Buddy Sin (2:53)
06. The Otherside - Streetcar (2:23)
07. Teddy and His Patches - Suzy Creamcheese (3:14)
08. The Immediate Family - Rubiyat (2:34)
09. Syndicate of Sound - Rumors (2:07)
10. The Harbinger Complex - Sometimes I Wonder (2:18)
11. The New Breed - Want Ad Reader (2:31)
12. The Generation - I'm a Good Woman (4:18)
13. The Chocolate Watchband - No Way Out (2:22)
14. Butch Eagle and the Styx - Hey I'm Lost (2:30)
15. People - I Love You (4:31)
16. Public Nuisance - America (3:23)
17. Country Weather - Fly to New York (6:18)
18. The Savage Resurrection - Thing in 'E' (3:08)
19. Frumious Bandersnatch - Hearts to Cry (5:05)

CD3 - "Summer of Love"

01. The Charlatans - Alabama Bound (6:26)
02. The Mystery Trend - Carl Street (2:49)
03. The Great! Society - Somebody to Love (LP Version) (4:20)
04. Country Joe and the Fish - Superbird (2:04)
05. The Beau Brummels - Two Days 'til Tomorrow (3:50)
06. Moby Grape - Omaha (2:24)
07. The Serpent Power - Up and Down (3:37)
08. Grateful Dead - The Golden Road (to Unlimited Devotion) (2:11)
09. Quicksilver Messenger Service - Codine (5:21)
10. Big Brother and the Holding Company - Down on Me (Live) (2:50)
11. Salvation - Think Twice (7:12)
12. Jefferson Airplane - White Rabbit (2:31)
13. Steve Miller Band - Roll With It (2:27)
14. Notes from the Underground - Why Did Put Me On (2:43)
15. Sly and the Family Stone - Underdog (3:58)
16. Blue Cheer - Summertime Blues (3:46)
17. The Ace of Cups - Glue (4:39)
18. Santana - Soul Sacrifice (6:42)
19. The Loading Zone - The Bells (4:00)

CD4 - "The Man Can't Bust Our Music"

01. Santana - Evil Ways (3:58)
02. Fifty Foot Hose - Red the Sign Post (2:59)
03. Kak - Lemonade Kid (5:53)
04. The Sons of Champlin - 1982-A (3:55)
05. Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks - How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away (2:39)
06. Mad River - Amphetamine Gazelle (2:55)
07. Steve Miller Band - Quicksilver Girl (2:47)
08. Mother Earth - Revolution (3:04)
09. Moby Grape - Murder In My Heart for the Judge (2:58)
10. Quicksilver Messenger Service - Light Your Windows (2:37)
11. Flamin' Groovies - I'm Drowning (2:10)
12. Seatrain - Portrait of the Artist as a Young Lady (3:52)
13. It's a Beautiful Day - White Bird (6:11)
14. Grateful Dead - Dark Star (Single Version) (2:45)
15. Blue Cheer - Fool (Single Version) (2:56)
16. Jefferson Airplane - Mexico (2:13)
17. Janis Joplin - Mercedes Benz (1:49)
18. The Youngbloods - Get Together (4:37)

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

#hashtags: Sing, Nuggets, Song, Francisco, Love,

2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, Album, albums, and, Band, best, Blues, Chill, Chillout, Club, Collection, Dance, Disco, Discography, Edition, Flac, from, HDTV, Hits, House, In, Jazz, Live, lossless, Lounge, Love, Music, Of, Original, Rock, Soul, The, VA, Various, Vinyl, Vol