Complete your record collection. Discover artist full discography

Fire in the Kitchen - some singles (1990-93)

Fire in the Kitchen - some singles (1990-93)

• Genre : Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• Label :
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    

Release code: ODI2165066 Added on 27-10-2014, 19:36
You want this album? link doesn't work? report us from your account!

Release Info: Fire in the Kitchen - some singles (1990-93)

This is a long overdue follow-up to an entry I penned all the way back in 2008 for Fire in the Kitchen's outstanding Theory of Everything album.  Can't believe it's been that long, but anyway...  Bearing an occasionally downer modus operandi, this New York quartet's pensive strain of post-punk thankfully fell well short of the "despondent" threshold.  With slight melodies, warm playing and assured delivery, I'm almost at a loss for words when it comes to describing the visceral charge so many of Fire in the Kitchen's songs arouse.  Almost like a more subtle variation on what Mission of Burma were emanating a decade earlier, but still, that doesn't quite distill FITK's engaging formula, one that lends an almost timeless persuasion to the riff-savvy "Simple English," the decidedly more contemplative "The Middle Fears," and last but not least, "The Fog," a bittersweet but surefire charmer that slots somewhere in between those first two.  I thoroughly love what these guys were going for.  Source info for the songs are as follows:

Simple English 7" (1991, Ajax)
01. Simple English
02. Cold, Rain and Snow

The Fog 7" (1992, Matador)
03. The Fog
04. Inspector Marais

Glow 2x7" ep (1993, Walt)
05. Trees and Lawns
06. The Middle Fears
07. Backseat Connoisseur
08. Pass Us By


2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, Album, albums, and, Band, best, Blues, Chill, Chillout, Club, Collection, Dance, Disco, Discography, Edition, Flac, from, HDTV, Hits, House, In, Jazz, Live, lossless, Lounge, Love, Music, Of, Original, Rock, Soul, The, VA, Various, Vinyl, Vol