Complete your record collection. Discover artist full discography

Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)

Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)

• Genre : Videoclips, Concerts, Movies
• Year : 0
• Label :
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    

Release code: ODI182156 Added on 27-10-2014, 19:34
You want this album? link doesn't work? report us from your account!

Release Info: Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)

Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)
DVD-5 | Runtime: 104 min. | 4,19 GB | Copy: Untouched
Video: NTSC, MPEG-2, 720 x 480 (1.333) at 29.970 fps | Audio: Dolby Digital 2 at 198 Kbps, 48.0 KHz
Genre: Rock, Indie Rock | Label: Pride | Covers: Not included

Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)
Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)
Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)
Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)
Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)
Kate Bush - Hounds Of Love: Under Review (2009)

For my first 'A Classic Album Under Review' DVD it's the only Kate Bush album I own; the sublime Hounds Of Love. An Album Under Review dissects a particularly seminal recording by taking a careful look at the artist's career - generating context if you will - then allowing various experts to dissect the album track-by-track. For true fans the prospect is like catnip - a plus-sized commentary track for a favorite record.
In practice, the affair reads like a documentary; lots of talking-head interviews interspersed with still shots and, for this series, tons of snippets of music videos. Bush was a leading proponent of revolutionizing music videos, but time has passed, so those examples displayed from her first four albums, while arresting, are a bit loony by today's standards - lots of experimental dance and folks roller-skating around in dunce caps, for example. Yet by the time Hounds Of Love rolls around, her videos have become quite energetic and engaging, especially the rapturous 'The Big Sky' (which will have you up and dancing) - her Hounds videos are documents that truly enhance the audio experience like few videos are able, and it's lovely to see bits of each. It would be nicer to see them complete.
Kate Bush fans should certainly sit back and enjoy 90 minutes about her career, with almost a half hour of history leading up to the title album, we journey from her prodigal start in 1978 to the moment the needle runs out of the groove on Hound's final track 'The Morning Fog.' As a casual fan and sometimes musician who adores the album, I was entranced throughout. It's likely that people who have never heard of Bush will be interested as well, an achievement for such a specialized piece of programming - but not so special for an album featuring possibly the strongest A-side released in the '80s. The strength of Bush's music draws you in, while the care, intelligence and respect devoted to talking about each track is truly engaging and enriching. Among others, journalist/ DJ Kris Needs (Zigzag magazine) puts Bush in perspective with the times, and talks about how the album was received. Bush's biographer Lucy O'Brien places the artist in the firmament of other women rockers while examining the heady themes explored on the record. Pianist and historian Chris Ingham breaks down compositional motifs employed by Bush to give the record its unique feel, and drummer Charlie Morgan (who played on the album) provides real insight into the record's unique percussive feel, some of how it was recorded, and what it was like working with Bush. Lastly, archive interviews from 1985 find Bush herself talking about the album.
The enthusiasm each displays for an album almost 25-years-old is infectious, providing a thorough, well-rounded look for deepening your understanding of the disc and urging new listeners to check it out. Musicians especially will be invigorated by accounts of unfettered creativity and practical attitudes for recording that are refreshing. Bush or label EMI does not authorize this DVD; a shame as it would be nice to hear Bush reflect on the time. Packaging is a bit misleading as well, touting 'live and studio versions of every track on the album.' I'll assume this refers to when Morgan and Ingham play snippets on drums or piano during their interview segments, and when bits of the recorded versions are played in music video form, however neither example represents a complete version of the song - far from it - so don't come in expecting two whole iterations of the album, just examples woven throughout the 90 minute feature. Aside from those quibbles, this is a stellar effort that will have you reaching for whatever it is you play music on these days.

01. The Kick Inside [8:39]
02. Lionheart [6:40]
03. Never Forever [1:58]
04. The Dreaming [9:35]
05. Running Up That Hill [7:13]
06. Hounds of Love [17:25]
07. Cloudbusting [7:40]
08. The Ninth Wave [26:45]
09. Success [6:33]

- Extended interviews
- Biographies


2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, Album, albums, and, Band, best, Blues, Chill, Chillout, Club, Collection, Dance, Disco, Discography, Edition, Flac, from, HDTV, Hits, House, In, Jazz, Live, lossless, Lounge, Love, Music, Of, Original, Rock, Soul, The, VA, Various, Vinyl, Vol