Complete your record collection. Discover artist full discography

Diana Krall - Quiet Nights (2009) DVD5

Diana Krall - Quiet Nights (2009) DVD5

• Genre : Videoclips, Concerts, Movies
• Year : 0
• Label :
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    

Release code: ODI176141 Added on 27-10-2014, 19:33
You want this album? link doesn't work? report us from your account!

Release Info: Diana Krall - Quiet Nights (2009) DVD5

Diana Krall - Quiet Nights (2009) DVD5

Diana Krall - Quiet Nights (2009) DVD5

Video: NTSC, MPEG-2, 720x480, 16:9, 29.970 fps
Audio: Dolby Digital 2, 48.0 KHz, 16 bits
Menu: Yes
Time: 43 min.
Size: 2,13 Gb

Bossa nova is not unfamiliar to Diana Krall, but 2009's Quiet Nights is her first record devoted to the gently swaying rhythm. Teaming up again with arranger Claus Ogerman, who last worked with Krall on 2001's The Look of Love and who also frequently collaborated with bossa nova godfather Antonio Carlos Jobim, Krall winds up with a mellow, lazy album that recalls the relaxed late-night sophistication of Jobim's duet album with Frank Sinatra, which Ogerman also happened to arrange and conduct. It's not just the sound, it's the songs: how '60s standards like Bacharach/David's "Walk on By" sit next to three Jobim tunes, a song by Marcos Valle ("So Nice"), and a few American Songbook standards placed at the beginning, the better to ease listeners into purer bossa nova at the end. Then again, they don't need much persuasion -- if any music could be called accessible it's this, with its warm intimacy and classic good taste. If anything, there may be a bit too much classic good taste on Quiet Nights -- there is no reinterpretation, only homage -- but that's not quite a problem because Krall knows enough to lay back, to never push, only to glide upon the gossamer surface. After all, some things are timeless for a reason; they need no updating, only replicating. [This version was released with a bonus DVD of live performances from Madrid, as well as a version
of "Makin Whoopee" featuring Elvis Costello and Elton John.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1. I Love Being Here With You 6:09
2. Boy From Ipanema 3:25
3. Exactly Like You 4:25
4. Quiet Nights 4:52
5. You're My Thrill 6:26
6. I Don't Know Enough About You 5:58
7. Let's Fall In Love 6:34
8. Makin' Whoopee 5:11 ( with Elvis Costello & Elton John )


2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, Album, albums, and, Band, best, Blues, Chill, Chillout, Club, Collection, Dance, Disco, Discography, Edition, Flac, from, HDTV, Hits, House, In, Jazz, Live, lossless, Lounge, Love, Music, Of, Original, Rock, Soul, The, VA, Various, Vinyl, Vol