Complete your record collection. Discover artist full discography

Jake Holmes - Above Ground Sound (1967)

Jake Holmes - Above Ground Sound (1967)

• Genre : Italo Disco HiNrg
• Year : 0
• Label :
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    

Release code: ODI152115 Added on 27-10-2014, 19:32
You want this album? link doesn't work? report us from your account!

Release Info: Jake Holmes - Above Ground Sound (1967)

Though often footnoted by Led Zeppelin apologists for "Dazed and Confused," Holmes' long out-of-print debut album for Columbia's Tower imprint contains much more than that pilfered song. It often blurs into the more speedy, acid-drenched songs of the Byrds, the warped balladry of early John Hartford, or the sort of folk orchestrations that would be toned down and delivered with greater refinement on Nick Drake's "Bryter Layter."

Holmes is to be lauded for his daring production risks, mixing Greenwich village folk with fleeting horns, strings, and quick-fingered jazz leads. The electric bass underpinning many of the arrangements is nimble and ever-so unpredictable. The album is indeed a lost psych-folk classic, albeit one the casually aware often slight with "if it's so good why haven't I heard it" dismissal. That said, Holmes does slip into some "poor me" lyrical missteps here and there.
1. Lonely
2. Did You Know
3. She Belonged to Me
4. Too Long
5. Genuine Imitation Life
6. Dazed and Confused
7. Penny's
8. Hard to Keep My Mind on You
9. Wish I Was Anywhere Else
10. Signs of Age


2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, Album, albums, and, Band, best, Blues, Chill, Chillout, Club, Collection, Dance, Disco, Discography, Edition, Flac, from, HDTV, Hits, House, In, Jazz, Live, lossless, Lounge, Love, Music, Of, Original, Rock, Soul, The, VA, Various, Vinyl, Vol