Simon McBride - 2 Albums : Rich Man Falling/Nine Lives

Released: 2008
Size: 119,2 MB
Time: 51:52
File: MP3 @ 320K/s
Styles: Blues-Rock
Label: Nugene records(NUG 804)
Art: Full

01. Down To The River [3:51]
02. Standing Still [3:41]
03. Fat Pockets [4:41]
04. So Much Love [3:53]
05. Pushing It Out [3:09]
06. Rich Man Falling [3:06]
07. Devil Woman [2:45]
08. Be My Friend [5:02]
09. Change [3:21]
10. Tell Me Why [3:51]
11. You Got A Problem [3:59]
12. DC [4:44]
13. Power Of Soul [5:43]

Within twenty seconds of Simon McBride taking the stage I knew that his long awaited debut album would be one to watch out for. Sure enough the opening track on Rich Man Falling more than lives up to that expectation and proves hard to get past without hitting the replay button several times.
Coming from Ireland will no doubt attract comparisons to the legendary Rory Gallagher. Yet there is much more to Simon McBride’s style. There are nods to Stevie Ray in there, touches of Hendrix, and much more of his own undeniable style, and presence.The album is made up of thirteen tracks, eleven of them McBride originals. As if to underline one of the comparisons he also adds a brilliant version of Hendrix’s “Power Of Soul” along with his take on the Free track “Be My Friend”.
“Down To The River” is just short of four minutes of extraordinary class, delivered by one of the hottest guitar lights around.As with many of his illustrious predecessors it was always destined to be this way. At the grand old age of fifteen McBride won UK’s Guitarist magazine’s ‘Young Guitarist Of The Year' award. He then joined Def Leppard’s Vivian Campbell in Sweet Savage, recorded two albums, and played some major festivals with them.It took until 2008 for this album to take shape but the end result is well worth the wait. His versatility shines through and is shown with the early switch he makes with “Standing Still” a slow burning shifting of gears.Quality requires yet more quality of course and not only do his self-penned tracks achieve this but he has surrounded himself with a band of excellent musicians. Drummer Paul Hamilton, and bass player Gareth Hughes provide the solid foundation to McBride's instinctive playing.
Listen to his vocals on the groove driven “Fat Pockets” with its scorching solo. Alternatively listen to the nicely melodic “So Much Love To Give” and that versatility literally smacks you between your speakers.This album is more rock than blues but blues based rock all the same.It’s every reviewers nightmare scenario to try and avoid the words scorching (already used), searing, or soaring when trying to describe his many excellent solos throughout the album. Just take it as read that they are all of those and a lot more. Meanwhile, his harder edge shows through on the pulsating “Pushing It Out” a track that is carried home by his gritty vocals.
If you are arriving here from the direction of the much missed Jeff Healy, or Joe Bonamassa you will find much to connect with. The same can be said of that harder edge too with touches of Michael Schenker and, of course, the influence of Vivian Campbell.The deep groove of the title tracks leads to the luscious blues slide of “Devil Woman”. It’s not easy for anyone to take on anything sung by Paul Rodgers and played by Paul Kossoff and yet his version of “Be My Friend” originally from Free’s Highway more than blows that theory apart. It’s effortlessly, excellent, and heavily taps into the original genius.
The quality relentlessly continues through the funky trio of “Change”, “Tell Me Why”, and “You’ve Got A Problem”. “DC” if anything takes it a notch higher with a hook laden highlight among one of the strongest sets you will hear on any debut. As if that wasn’t enough he wraps up with an incredible take on Hendrix’s “Power Of Soul” from his Band Of Gypsies era.
Simon McBride has arrived and delivered an album that leaves you like a thirsty dog panting for more.
~Jeff perkins

Rich Man Falling

Released: 2012
Size: 150,4 MB
Time: 65:25
File: MP3 @ 320K/s
Styles: Blues-rock
Label: Nugene Records
Art: Full

01. Down To The Wire (live) [5:42]
02. Take My Hand Hell Waters Rising (live) [7:59]
03. Fire Me Up (live) [3:01]
04. Rich Man Falling (live) [4:10]
05. Fat Pockets (live) [4:57]
06. Down To The River (live) [7:04]
07. Change (live) [3:31]
08. Power Of Soul (live) [9:26]
09. Devils Road (live) [3:36]
10. Coming Home (acoustic) [4:32]
11. Down To The River (acoustic) [3:58]
12. Rich Man Falling (acoustic) [4:19]
13. Devils Road (acoustic) [3:04]

Nine Lives is Simon McBride’s new ‘live’ album and it releases April 2 2012
With Nine Lives McBride proves that on stage he can make a sound every bit as good as his studio albums. He delivers powerful renditions of songs from his two studio albums together with a previously unreleased song (Fire Me Up). The album also carries four bonus tracks in which he reprises songs in a stripped down acoustic format, demonstrating just how natural a guitarist and singer he is.
Simon McBride started playing the guitar when he was ten. By age 15 and entirely self-taught, he was good enough to enter Guitarist Magazine’s Young Guitarist of The Year, a performance competition staged at Wembley Conference Centre, which he won against strong competition. Even before that achievement, Simon was endorsed by the notable American guitar builder Paul Reed Smith, a relationship that continues to this day. Other PRS artists include Al Di Meola, Santana and Buddy Guy.
Observers of the blues-rock scene are calling Simon McBride the natural heir to Rory Gallagher and Gary Moore. Like these icons he hails from Ireland and from Moore’s hometown, Belfast. He is an astoundingly good guitarist, a fine singer and a prolific songwriter.
His first professional job – at age 16 – took him into heavy metal territory with the Belfast-based pioneering metal band Sweet Savage, who reformed in 1994 without their founding guitarist, Vivian Campbell (Dio, Def Leppard), who Simon replaced. Simon toured with the band and recorded two albums, Killing Time 1996 and Rune 1998.
After leaving Sweet Savage in 1998, He joined fellow Irishman Andrew Strong, who had made his name in the 1991 cult film "The Commitments" and went on to a successful singing career. Playing with Strong was in stark contrast to Sweet Savage. As Simon says, the change of musical style was a useful and enjoyable learning experience. He spent six years touring with Strong before leaving to pursue the idea of a solo career.
SIMON McBRIDE - voc/gtr, PAUL HAMILTON - drums, CARL HARVEY - bass.

Nine Lives
Mo' Albums...
][Reverend Rusty & The case - Sinner Not A Saint]
][Sonny Rhodes - Blue Diamond]

Cloud Storage - You need to upgrade to premium to download. Buy a premium account
or buy this album(s) in MP3 format CODE:105337 directly with Bitcoin without register