John Pizzarelli - One Night With You (1996) MP3/Flac

John Pizzarelli - One Night With You (1996)Artist: John Pizzarelli
Title Of Album: One Night With You
Year Of Release: 1996
Label: Chesky
Genre: Jazz, Swing, Big band
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 192 Kbps
Total Time: 55 Min
Total Size: 78 Mb

If you like your contemporary jazz crooners smooth and sweet, then likely John Pizzarelli is your main man above today's many post-Sinatra posers. This recording is as solid an effort as he has offered musically, or in terms of his stance and intelligent selection of material. While his guitar playing is subsumed, it is nonetheless precious, and when occasionally paired alongside his father, Bucky Pizzarelli, priceless. The surrounding cast is outstanding, with bassists Milt Hinton, Ron Carter, or Michael Moore; drummers Butch Miles or Connie Kay; and especially the great pianist Dave McKenna -- along with cameos from trumpeter Clark Terry and violinist Johnny Frigo. You hear ten standards all done lovingly, the pop tune "Candy" (which is really the only throwaway), and the Slim Gaillard/Slam Stewart goof novelty blues "Oh Me, Oh My, Oh Gosh." Two originals are included: "Stray Horn," an instrumental bluesy ballad tribute to Billy Strayhorn; and the cutely sung "Take My Smile." This is a winning effort, unadulterated by over-commercialized smarmy pop-culture claptrap -- perhaps honest to a fault but sincere and authentic enough to go straight to your heart. ~ Michael G. Nastos, All Music Guide

1. It Could Happen To You
2. I'm Through With Love
3. The Touch Of Your Lips
4. I'll Never Be The Same
5. Lady Be Good
6. Stray Horn
7. Oh Me, Oh My, Oh Gosh
8. Do Nothing 'Till You Hear From Me
9. Candy
10. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
11. Early Autumn
12. Take My Smile
13. Passion Flower
14. Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You