Thelma Houston - Sunshower - 1969 MP3/Flac

Thelma Houston - Sunshower - 1969

Thelma Houston (born Thelma Jackson on May 7, 1946) is an American singer-songwriter and actress. She scored a number-one hit in 1977 with her cover version of the song "Don't Leave Me This Way", which won the 1978 Grammy Award for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance.
Houston was in Leland, Mississippi, the daughter of a cotton picker mother. She and her three sisters grew up primarily in Long Beach, California. After marrying and having two children, she joined the Art Reynolds Singers gospel group and was subsequently signed as a recording artist with Dunhill Records.
n 1969, Houston released her debut album, entitled Sunshower. In 1971, she signed with Motown Records, but her early recordings with them were largely unsuccessful. Her most notable single during that period was "You've Been Doing Wrong for So Long" which peaked at number sixty-four on the R&B chart in 1974. In April of that same year she joined the cast of The Marty Feldman Comedy Machine, playing various characters during the shows skits. The show was canceled in August and for the next several years her work was limited to demo recordings and performing at small venues.
On August 14, 2007, Houston released her first studio album in seventeen years, A Woman's Touch. The album features cover versions of songs by male artists such as Luther Vandross, Marvin Gaye, and Sting that Houston had been inspired by. The first single from the album was "Brand New Day". On August 20, 2007, Houston's 1984 album Qualifying Heat was reissued as an import title in the U.S. with a bonus track.

Label: Motown
Catalog#: M5-127V1
Format: Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Released: 21 Aug 1969
Genre: Funk / Soul
Style: Soul


A1 - Sunshower
A2 - Everybody Gets To Go To The Moon
A3 - To Make It Easier On You
A4 - Didn't We
A5 - Mixed Up Girl
A6 - Someone Is Standing Outside
B1 - Jumpin' Jack Flash
B2 - This Is Where I Came In
B3 - Pocketful Of Keys
B4 - This Is Your Life
B5 - Cheap Lovin'
B6 - If This Was The Last Song

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here