Joe Carter & Kansas City Red - Original Chicago Blues MP3/Flac

Joe Carter & Kansas City Red - Original Chicago Blues

Born Joseph J. Carter in Midland, Georgia, he was taught to play guitar by Lee Willis as a youngster in Georgia. He moved to Chicago, Illinois in 1952, where he met Muddy Waters. He formed his first band with Otis "Big Smokey" Smothers on guitar and Lester Davenport on harmonica, though he never recorded with this band. He was offered a recording contract with Cobra Records, but turned it down because he made more money with his club gigs. In the 1950s he performed frequently at the 708 Club, one of the premier blues clubs on Chicago's south side, often billed as Joe "Elmore James, Jr." Carter because of his mastery of the Elmore James slide guitar style.
Carter worked at the Hormel Meat Packing plant for many years when he was inactive as a musician.
Carter did not begin recording until 1976, when his debut album was issued on Barrelhouse Records. In the late 1980s he performed occasionally at the Lilly's nightclub on Chicago's north side, backed by the band The Ice Cream Men. By the early 1990s he had developed throat cancer and was forced to curtail his career.
Carter died in June 2001 in Chicago.

01 - Mama Talk To Your Daughter
02 - You're The One
03 - Rock Me

Kansas City Red

b. 7 May 1926, Drew, Mississippi, USA, d. 6 June 1991, Chicago, Illinois, USA. A drummer and blues singer, in the 40s Red worked for Robert Nighthawk (who recorded Red’s song, ‘The Moon Is Rising’), and in the 50s for Earl Hooker. He became a club owner in Chicago, and a fixture on the city’s blues scene, playing with Johnny Shines, Walter Horton and Sunnyland Slim, and leading his own bands, one of which provided early professional experience for Jimmy Reed. Red claimed to have recorded demos for Chess Records, JOB and Vee Jay Records, but his debut as a name artist came on a 1975 anthology. Thereafter, he continued to do occasional session drumming for several of his Chicago colleagues, and to combine bar management with live gigs.

04 - Open Your Heart
05 - Crawling Kingsnake
06 - Sweet Black Angel
07 - Rollin' & Tumblin'
08 - Standing Around Crying
09 - The Moon Is Rising

News article is edited by: Grover - 30-09-2013, 18:03