John Pizzarelli - Dear Mr. Cole (1994) MP3/Flac

Artist: John Pizzarelli
Title Of Album: Dear Mr.Cole
Year Of Release: 1994
Label: Novus
Genre: Jazz, Swing, Neo-bop
Quality: MP3
Length: 62:20
Bitrate: 160 Kbps
Total Size: 75 Mb

John Pizzarelli's tribute to Nat King Cole features him in a drumless trio with pianist Benny Green and bassist Christian McBride on all but one selection. Pizzarelli is fine as a rhythm guitarist, but since he sings on most of the selections and his voice is merely average, this session (which includes 18 selections, most of which were originally associated with Cole) is of less interest than one might hope. At least Pizzarelli has a cheerful style and does not seem to take himself too seriously; Green has many forceful solos, but the leader's limited vocal abilities keep this recording from being too essential. ~ Scott Yanow, All Music Guide

1. Style Is Coming Back In Style
2. What Can I Say After I Say I'm Sorry?
3. Little Girl
4. You Must Be Blind
5. Sweet Georgia Brown
6. It's Only A Paper Moon
7. September Song
8. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
9. Nature Boy
10. This Way Out
11. Too Marvelous For Words
12. Route 66
13. Sweet Lorraine
14. Straighten Up And Fly Right
15. Honeysuckle Rose
16. L-O-V-E
17. Unforgettable
18. Portrait Of Jenny

Dear Mr. Cole is an album in tribute to Nat King Cole by jazz singer and guitarist John Pizzarelli, accompanied by Benny Green on piano and Christian McBride on double-bass on all but one track.