« Viva Maria - Summertime In Spa...
Gedo - Gedo 1974 外道* ‎... »
Various Artists - Arf! Arf! (El Cheapo) 2-CD Sampler (2001)

Various Artists - Arf! Arf! (El Cheapo) 2-CD Sampler (2001)


• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    


Arf! Arf!

Album Info

Various Artists - Arf! Arf! (El Cheapo) 2-CD Sampler (2001)

Track Listing
CD 1
1 The New Breed - Wasting My Time (Worcester, MA, U.S.A.)
2 The Lost - Everybody Knows (Boston, MA, U.S.A.)
3 Bourbons - Alyshia (U.S.A.)
4 The Rising Storm - Baby Please Don't Go (Andover, MA, U.S.A.)
5 Rich Weinberg - Pandora Wants Strange (U.S.A.)
6 The Four Commandments - Can You Get Me Out Of This Place (Boston, MA, U.S.A.)
7 Dry Ice - Mary Is Alone (Revere, MA, U.S.A.)
8 Lazy Smoke - You Gave Me Light (Boston, MA, U.S.A.)
9 The Lost - More Incidental Music (Boston, MA, U.S.A.)
10 Flat Earth Society - Satori (Lynwood, MA, U.S.A.)
11 The Litter - Action Woman (Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.)
12 The Litter - Tallyman (Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.)
13 Those Of Us - Without You (Sioux Falls, SD, U.S.A.)
14 Steve Ellis & The Starfires - Pride Of A Man (Pipestone, MN, U.S.A.)
15 Dee Jay & The Runaways - unknown (Spirit Lake, IA, U.S.A.)
16 Chuck Barr & The Playboys - Espanie'l (PA, U.S.A.)
17 The Yankee Rebels - I Can't Take It (Pottsville, PA, U.S.A.)
18 Traditions - My Life With You (PA, U.S.A.)
19 Pat Farrell & The Believers - Mojo Workout (Hamburg, PA, U.S.A.)
20 The Flowerz - I Need Love Now (Reading, PA, U.S.A.)
21 Six Feet Under - In Retrospect (NJ, U.S.A.)
22 The Fredric - Country (Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
23 White Lightning - Freedom (Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.)
24 The Legends - Rock And Roll Woman (Harrisburg, PA, U.S.A.)
25 TNT - Please Let Me Into Your Secrets (Camp Hill, PA, U.S.A.)
26 Pandora - King Queen
27 Moving Parts - House Flaming (Boston, MA, U.S.A.)

CD 2
1 The Electras - Soul Searchin' (Ely, MN, U.S.A.)
2 The Lovin' Sandwich - No No No
3 Apollo's Apaches - Boss (Be Good To Me) (Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
4 The Males - Kiddie A Go Go (Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
5 The Black Diamonds - Let's All Mix Together
6 Morgen - Of Dreams (New York, NY, U.S.A.)
7 Dragonfly - Enjoy Yourself (CA, U.S.A.)
8 31 Flavors - Distortions Of Darkness (U.S.A.)
9 The Id - The Rake (San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
10 The Soundz - Freak Out (Part One)
11 The Space Negros - In A Gadda Da Vida (U.S.A.)
12 The Space Negros - Happenings Ten Years Time Ago (U.S.A.)
13 The Space Negros - Crossfire/Tea For Two Cha Cha Cha (U.S.A.)
14 The Space Negros - We Will Fall (U.S.A.)
15 Erik Lindgren - It Looks You In The Eye (Middleborough, MA, U.S.A.)
16 The Beagles - Deep In The Heart Of Texas (U.S.A.)
17 High Voltage - Fancy Woman (U.S.A.)
18 Lucia Pamela - In The Year 2001!
19 Jack Mudurian - Sings
20 Ken Field - Insanity
21 Erik Lindgren - Changes (Middleborough, MA, U.S.A.)
22 Erik Lindgren - Action Man (Middleborough, MA, U.S.A.)
23 Erik Lindgren - Waltham Camera & Stereo 1 (1982) (Middleborough, MA, U.S.A.)

The Arf! Arf! line focuses mostly on 1960s (and occasionally 1970s) garage bands that are obscure even by the standards of this over-anthologized genre. It also takes in weird amateurish cult records and experimental, idiosyncratic rock (sometimes in projects including label head Erik Lindgren himself). Released in commemoration of its 20th anniversary, this might at first glance look like the kind of label sampler-cum-advertisement that few would seriously consider buying. You'd be wrong, however, because in a refreshing exception to custom, none of these 50 tracks were previously available on CD, and many were previously unreleased in any form. This in turn isn't necessarily as exciting as it sounds, since a good deal of these unreleased items are demos or alternate takes/mixes of cuts by artists that don't exactly have devoted followings, even cult ones. Garage band aficionados will probably have heard of the Lost, the Litter, the Flat Earth Society, and the Lazy Smoke; indie rock collectors might know about Space Negros and Lindgren; and "incredibly strange music" followers will have probably at least heard about Lucia Pamela and Jack Mudarian (the latter of whom is actually represented by a radio story on his ability to sing snippets of old pop tunes for 45 minutes at a time). Otherwise you might feel a little lost. Yet as for the garage stuff, which takes up well over half the set, there are some good selections: the Lost's moody "Everybody Knows" (an alternate version), the Litter's classic "Action Woman" (with alternate vocal), Steve Ellis' & the Starfires' uncanny Byrds imitation "Pride of a Man," and Morgen's "Of Dreams," a quite good heavy psych tune with helium whispery female vocals and inventive fuzz and wah-wah flutters. Although the average merit of the garage cuts is just okay, there's so much variety, from frat rock and instrumentals to glam and power pop, that it actually ends up being a much more enjoyable listening experience than the ordinary Arf! Arf! single-artist or single-label compilation. It's not quite certain whether the typical fan of such sounds will enjoy the wacky ineptitude of Lucia Pamela, or the post-'70s tracks like the creepy synth pop of the Space Negros. These don't mesh comfortably with everything else, though they do complete a representative portrait of the Arf! Arf! catalog. ~ Richie Unterberger

The album is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

The album code is : ODI4393521

Devon | Adele - 19 (Deluxe Version) iTunes (2008) | RO Dance | Francesco Napoli - Balla....Balla! CDM - 320k | VA - Energy | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack W.A.S.P. - Live at the Lyceum, London 1984 [VHSRip] Talking Heads - Live in Rome 1980 [TVRip] Stone Sour - Live In Brighton 2010 (2012) [DVDRip] Eric Johnson - Anaheim - Live At The Groove 2006 [DVDRip] Sonic Youth - Live at Belfort, France 2005 [SATRip] Emerson, Lake & Palmer - The Missing Exhibits 1971 [VHSRip] VA - Acid 88 (2016) VA - BNR TRAX #50 (2016) Fausto Papetti - 36a Raccolta (1983) Mp3/Flac VA - Best Of 2016 (2016) Black Merlin - Hipnotik Tradisi (2016) James Grant & Jody Wisternoff - Anjunadeep 08 (2016) Adriano Celentano - Io Non So Parlar D'amore (1999) Flac/Mp3 Caesar Giovannini - The Brillant Sound Of Pianos And Percussion (1961) Rupert Holmes "Rainy Night In Georgia" (1980) -Soft Rock- Rupert Holmes "Adventure" (1980) -Westcoast Rock / Soft Rock Rupert Holmes "Rupert Holmes" (1975) -Soft Rock- Lindsey Webster "Back To Your Heart" (2016) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "You Change" (2015) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "Lindsey Webster" (2013) -Westcoast Jazz / Soft Rock- Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Anli Sugano - Just Groovin' - Complete LP A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)