Flagstad & Melchior - Great Wagner Duets (2000) MP3/Flac

Flagstad & Melchior - Great Wagner Duets (2000)
Artist: Flagstad & Melchior
Title Of Album: Great Wagner Duets
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Naxos Historical
Genre: Opera
Format: FLAC (image+cue), log-file
Bitrate: Loossless
Total Time: 01:18:03
Total Size: 160 MB

You don't go very far into an exploration of Wagner's operas and the history of their performances without encountering the names of Kirsten Flagstad and Lauritz Melchior. In Wagner performances they were without rival. Flagstad had a large, steady voice of great beauty, gleaming at the top and sonorous in its lower register. Melchior seemed born to cope easily with most of Wagner's tenor roles (he actually began as a baritone). He had all the stamina needed, and he touched every phrase with imaginative power. Both singers had long careers and sang the heavy and demanding Wagner roles with almost undiminished glory for many years. Their Wagner opera appearances together were limited to the years 1936-1941. Reissues of attempts to record some of these performances are still appearing today. Sadly, no attempt was made by a major recording company to record them in a complete opera. Flagstad I saw only in recital - a tall, statuesque figure who acknowledged applause with a tiny curtsey. The only commercial studio recordings they made together, in Wagner opera excerpts, are here reissued by Naxos on one budget CD. The series of duets was made in Hollywood in 1939 and New York in 1940. Vocally, both singers are in peak form. Restoration producer has judiciously and skillfully tailored these old 78s to modern listening requirements. Several of the original 78 sides were provided with closing chords - not written by Wagner - to make the music seem self-sufficient. These have been removed.

01. Lohengrin: Das susse Lied verhalt (06:54)
02. Lohengrin: Athmest du nicht mit mir die sussen Dufte (04:01)
03. Lohengrin: Hochstes Vertrau'n (07:42)
04. Tristan: O sink' hernieder (05:17)
05. Tristan: Einsam wachend (04:31)
06. Tristan: So sturben wir (07:35)
07. Gotterdammerung: Zu neuen Taten (08:54)
08. Parsifal: Dies Alles - hab' ich (03:22)
09. Parsifal: Ich sah' das Kind (09:35)
10. Parsifal: Amfortas! Die Wunde! (06:46)
11. Parsifal: Grausammer! (07:54)
12. Parsifal: Erlosung, Frevlerin (03:19)
13. Parsifal: Halt Da! Dich bann' ich (02:07)
Flagstad & Melchior - Great Wagner Duets (2000)
Buy Premium From My Links To Get Resumable Support,Max Speed & Support Me