« Carlos Funk - Lucky Seven (201...
Ennio Morricone - Maddalena (1... »
Chicken Shack - The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions (2005)

Chicken Shack - The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions (2005)

Chicken Shack

Blues , Love, Latino
• Year : 2005
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    


Sony BMG

Album Info

Chicken Shack - The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions (2005)

Artist: Chicken Shack
Title Of Album: The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions
Year Of Release: 2005
Label: Sony BMG
Genre: Blues/Rock, British Blues

Formed and led by guitarist/vocalist Stan Webb, Chicken Shack were one of the first bands to be signed to the Blue Horizon label in the mid-'60s. As of this compilation's release in 2006, Webb was still fronting a version of the group. While never attaining any success in the States, Chicken Shack were well known in the U.K., with fleeting success second only to John Mayall and labelmates Fleetwood Mac. Webb's Freddie King-styled guitar and vocalist/pianist Christine Perfect's (later McVie) singing were the major draws to this second-tier British blues band, but neither were strong enough to carry the group's success to the U.S. market. This three-disc set collects the band's entire output for the imprint from 1967-1969 and includes alternate takes, singles, and B-sides (56 tracks in all), and also features terrific liner notes by label head/producer Mike Vernon. Perfect stayed for two of four releases for the label, exiting before the recording of 1969's 100 Ton Chicken. Hence she appears on about half of this disc, leaving after the U.K. hit single "I'd Rather Go Blind." Webb's often wobbly but amiable singing is an acquired taste, so Perfect's husky, smooth vocals and classy blues piano runs were major contributions to the band, and strong points they never adequately replaced. Occasional use of horns distinguished Chicken Shack from both Mac and Savoy Brown, another band very much in the Shack style and one with whom they swapped members. These three discs include the contents of four albums and assorted singles, with much of this music hard to obtain. The remastering is excellent, too, and it's safe to say that Chicken Shack have never sounded better. But the band wasn't strong or innovative enough to maintain interest over these four albums, making this all-inclusive set essential only for fans, collectors, and those looking to research the roots of Christine Perfect's pre-Fleetwood Mac sultry blues-tinged pop. Everyone else can make due with 2004's The Very Best of Chicken Shack, a single disc that cherry-picks the better tunes from the Blue Horizon era.

CD 1:
01. It's Okay with Me Baby
02. When My Left Eye Jumps
03. Letter
04. Lonesome Whistle Blues
05. When the Train Comes Back
06. San-Ho-Zay
07. King of the World
08. See See Baby
09. First Time I Met the Blues
10. Webbed Feet
11. You Ain't No Good
12. What You Did Last Night
13. Hey Baby
14. Baby's Got Me Crying
15. Right Way Is My Way
16. Get Like You Used to Be
17. Pony and Trap
18. Tell Me
19. Woman Is the Blues
20. When the Train Comes Back [Single Version]

CD 2:
01. Worried About My Woman
02. Six Nights in Seven
03. I Wanna See My Baby
04. Remngton Ride
05. Fishing in Your River
06. Mean Old World
07. Sweet Sixteen
08. I'd Rather Go Blind
09. Night Life
10. Road of Love
11. Look Ma, I'm Cryin'
12. Evelyn
13. Reconsider Baby
14. Weekend Love
15. Midnight Hour
16. Tears in the Wind
17. Horse & Cart
18. Way It Is
19. Still Worried About My Woman
20. Anji

CD 3:
01. Smartest Girl in Town
02. Hideaway
03. Things You Put Me Through
04. Diary of Your Life
05. Pocket
06. Never Ever
07. Sad Clown
08. Maudie
09. Telling Your Fortune
10. Tired Eyes
11. Some Other Time
12. Going Round
13. Andalucian Blues
14. You Knew You Did You Did
15. She Didn't Use Her Loaf
16. Maudie [Single Version]

The album code is : ODI4384517

Trance Top 100 Vol 15 (2013) | Dschinghin | Black Diamond Trio - Black Diamond Trio (1977) | dj charly remix 80 non stop vol.78 | Tullio De | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Osanna – Pape Satan Aleppe (2016) The Lew Thomas Band - Walks, Talks & Fallouts (2016) Wild Cherry - Wild Cherry (1976) Wild Cherry - Electrified Funk (1977) Locomotive Man - The Coming Storm (2015) Wild Cherry - I Love My Music (1978) VA - Elicuts Vol. 1 (2016) Future Beat Alliance - Hidden Emotion (2016) VA - Secret Map v.I (2016) Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green - Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green (2CD) (2008) Kay Webb Orchestra - Gitarrentraume In Gold (1979) Jack Fred with Band - Mood Music / Saxophon (2003) Golden Nightingale Orchestra - Golden Accordeon Melodies (1988) Achillea - The Nine Worlds (2005) MP3 + Lossless Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)