« Marva Wright - Born with the b...
Cory Robinson - Tell Me (1998) »
The Marcels - The Best Of The Marcels (1990)

The Marcels - The Best Of The Marcels (1990)

The Marcels

• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    


Rhino Records

Album Info

The Marcels - The Best Of The Marcels (1990)
Label: Rhino Records
The Marcels were an American doo-wop group known for turning popular music songs into rock and roll. They are known primarily for their novelty-tinged cover of "Blue Moon". The group formed in 1959 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and signed to Colpix Records, with lead Cornelius Harp, bass Fred Johnson, Gene Bricker, Ron Mundy, and Richard Knauss. The group was named after a popular hair style of the day, the marcel wave.
"Lest anyone think the Marcels were a one-song phenomenon (i.e. "Blue Moon"), this CD will be a valuable learning experience, as well as delightful listening. Drawing primarily from their singles (with three LP cuts and an unissued outtake filling out the song lineup), this is a fairly dazzling array of vocal acrobatics, much of it hung around old pop standards, among them "Summertime," "That Old Black Magic," "My Melancholy Baby," and "Over the Rainbow," as well as songs of more recent vintage. Among the discoveries to be made here is a gloriously radiant recording of an otherwise "lost" Barry Mann/Cynthia Weill number called "Find Another Fool." Cornelius Harp's lead on "Summertime" is a glorious thing to hear, while the brilliantly arranged "Heartaches" -- dominated by Walt Maddox's baritone -- which managed to hit number nine nationally, manages to encompass something essentially poignant about R&B and rock & roll, and elicit a laugh or two (or three) in the process. Original producer Stu Phillips, whose subsequent career involved him in everything from the Monkees to the soundtrack of Battlestar Galactica, did a brilliant job on these tracks, which hold up very well today, the voices always out front and in your face, and just enough rhythm section and whatever lead instrument (usually a sax) to sweeten the mix and add a little punch behind the group. If this disc has any flaw, it's that the makers didn't follow the chronological order of the recording dates, which means that the sounds of the two distinctly different lineups of the group are intermingled -- but the notes also include a chart delineating precisely which lineup sang on which songs, and that's excellent compensation."


01. Blue Moon
02. I'll Be Forever Loving You
03. I Wanna Be The Leader
04. That Old Black Magic
05. Honestly Sincere
06. Footprints In The Sand
07. Summertime
08. Heartaches
09. Allright, Okay, You Win
10. Goodbye To Love
11. Find Another Fool
12. My Melancholy Baby
13. Sweet Was The Wine
14. One Last Kiss
15. Friendly Loans
16. Crazy Bells
17. Blue Heartaches
18. Over The Rainbow

The album is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

#tags Marcels, Marcels, Best,
The album code is : ODI4384403

Roxanne - | The Legends of Rock-N-Roll (1989) | The Clash | VA - 50 Real House Bombs (2014) | Simple Minds - Up On The Catwalk (Vinyl 12 | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Skew Siskin - What The Hell (1999) Bronco - Modern Mythology (2016) Skew Siskin - Electric Chair Music (1996) Hoelderlin - Live Traumstadt 1978 (Lossless+MP3) (2005) The Unknown Quantity - The Unknown Quantity (1972) Nash B.C. - Burning Babylon (2016) Matt Berry - The Small Hours (2016) Joanne Shaw Taylor - The Dirty Truth (2014) Lossless Michel Sajrawy - Writings On The Wall (2009) Lossless Stanislav Tolkachev - When you are not at home (2016) Blondie - The Curse Of Blondie (2003) The Rankin Family - Reunion (Exculsive Tour Edition) (2007) Elvin Bishop - Ace In The Hole (1995) Greg Abate, Alan Barnes - Birds Of A Feather Lindsey Webster "Back To Your Heart" (2016) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "You Change" (2015) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "Lindsey Webster" (2013) -Westcoast Jazz / Soft Rock- Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Anli Sugano - Just Groovin' - Complete LP A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)