« Miko Mission - The Original Ma...
Jack Tempchin - Staying Home (... »
Funky Kings - Self-Titled (1978)

Funky Kings - Self-Titled (1978)

Funky Kings

• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Funky Kings - Self-Titled (1978)
Artist: Funky Kings
Album: Self-Titled
Label: Arista Records
Catalog#: AL4078
Country: US
Released: 1976
Genre: Rock, Country Rock
With the California country-rock, singer-songwriter sound of the Eagles and Jackson Browne a hot commodity in the mid-'70s, the idea for the Funky Kings seemed to make perfect sense. Formed in 1976 for Clive Davis' Arista Records, Funky Kings was an odd teaming of three singer-songwriters -- Jack Tempchin ("Peaceful Easy Feeling", "Already Gone"), Jules Shear, and Richard Stekol -- with a funk rhythm section, bassist Bill Bodine and drummer Frank Cotinola, and steel guitarist Greg Leisz.
• Although Davis had high hopes that the Kings would become the next Eagles, they received little notice, and, when Arista passed on releasing a second record, disbanded after one album. The first single from the record, Tempchin's "Slow Dancing," did receive minor airplay at the time of its release, but failed to make any waves until being covered by Johnny Rivers in 1977, when it peaked at number ten.
• Tempchin went on to record one LP for Arista as well as collaborating with former Eagle Glenn Frey on material for Frey's solo efforts. Shear formed the critically acclaimed Jules and the Polar Bears in 1978 before releasing a number of highly lauded, if not commercially successful, albums on his own. His songs have been recorded by artists such as Roger McGuinn, Tommy Conwell and Iain Matthews and reached the charts thanks to renditions by the Bangles and Cyndi Lauper. He also served as host of MTV's Unplugged series. Stekol, who has had his songs done by singers including Kim Carnes and Iain Matthews, has continued to record and tour with Shear on occasion. ~ Brett Hartenbach


01. 01. Singing in the Streets 03:31
02. My Old Pals 03:21
03. So Long 02:41
04. Highway Song (Drive, Drive, Drive) 04:09
05. Nothing Was Exchanged 03:08
06. Slow Dancing 03:46
07. Let Me Go 03:44
08. So Easy to Begin 03:41
09. Help to Guide Me 04:03
10. Mattress on the Roof 04:09
11. Anywhere But Jimmie's 02:50

The album is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

#tags Funky, Kings, Self,
The album code is : ODI4384399

Classic Petra - Back To The Rock (2010) | MixMusic Megamix Especial 80's | THE MARS VOLTA 2004 Sydney Australia | VA - Italo Disco Collection 1 | P.L.J Band - TεÏ�μιτες 1983 (Vertigo) | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Corbu - Crayon Soul (2016) Jain - Zanaka (Deluxe Edition) (2016) Siddhartha - Weltschmerz 1975 (Lossless) (1994) Essaie Pas - Demain Est Une Autre Nuit (2016) Cyborgdrive - Majestic Land (2016) The Violent Youth - Discotheque (2016) VA - Black Hole Recordings Best Of 2016 (2016) Kraftwerk - The Model / Showroom Dummies (1996) Angelica - Walkin' In Faith (1990) [1992, Japan] Wilco - Being There (1996/2013) [HDtracks] Eric Serra - Le Grand Bleu Version Integrale (1988) Mp3 + Lossless Keith Hudson - Pick A Dub (Deluxe Edition) (2016) Danielle Dax - Dark Adapted Eye (2008) Stan Getz / Charlie Byrd - Jazz Samba (1962) [2014 HDtracks] Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 2" (1993) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Roby Duke "Not The Same" (1992) - CCM / Westcoast Rock- America "Highway - 30 Years Of" (2000) -Folk Pop / Soft Rock / Westcoast Rock- The Cornelius Bumpus Quartet ‎"Beacon" (1983) -Contemporary Jazz- Boy Meets Girl ‎"Boy Meets Girl" (1985) - Westcoast Rock- Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP Richard Tee - Natural Ingredients - Complete LP Michael Jackson - One Day In Your Life - Complete LP Teena Marie - Emerald City - Complete LP