Brian Culbertson - Bringing Back The Funk MP3/Flac

Brian Culbertson - Bringing Back The Funk
Brian Culbertson - Bringing Back The Funk

Label: GRP Records
Style: Smooth Jazz
Released: Apr/29/2008
Format/Source: Audio CD
Quality: CBR 320 kbps
Size: 107MB

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

Keyboardist extraordinaire Brian Culbertson has a style that is a mixture of inimitable funk and suave grooves. Growing up, Culbertson was heavily influenced by the work of Maynard Ferguson, Dave Sanborn, the Brecker Brothers, Blood Sweat & Tears, James Brown, and Earth Wind & Fire. Bringing Back the Funk (GRP Records, 2008) employs outstanding musicians to accompany him on the exploration of his funk music roots, many of whom were a part of the very acts that influenced him. The album—and the fact that the sessions were recorded live just like they were in the time of these great funk bands—ensures that the vibe of the album and the song selection stays true to the authenticity of the genre.

Culbertson's first single, “Always Remember,” has burned up the charts and the album debuted at number one on Billboard's Contemporary Jazz Chart. Maurice White, founder of Earth Wind & Fire, acts as executive producer on the project, with Culbertson producing all tracks except “Funkin' Like My Father,” which was co-produced by Bootsy Collins and “Always Remember,” produced by Sheldon Reynolds. Also featured on Bringing Back the Funk are guests including the incomparable Larry Dunn, Sheldon Reynolds, Tom Scott, Maceo Parker, Fred Wesley, Greg Adams and Musiq Soulchild.


1. Funkin'
2. Always Remember
3. Hollywood Swinging
4. House Of Music
5. You Got To Funkifize
6. Groove
7. World Keeps Going Around
8. Excuse Me...What's Your Name?
9. Voices Inside
10. Let's Stay In Tonight