Parliament - Gold 2005 MP3/Flac

Parliament - Gold 2005

[b]Artist: Parliament
Title Of Album: Gold
Year Of Release: Mar 01, 2005
Label: Island
Genre: Funk, Urban Soundtrack, Soul/R&B,
Quality: MP3 / Joint Stereo
Bitrate: 320kbit/s / 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 148:04min
Total Size: 296 MB

Parliament: Bootsy Collins (vocals, guitar, bass instrument, drums); Eddie Hazel (vocals, guitar); George Clinton (vocals); Fred Wesley, Maceo Parker, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker (horns); Bernie Worrell (keyboards, synthesizer); Dennis Chambers (drums); Philippe Wynne (background vocals).

Liner Note Author: Greg Tate.

Recording information: 1974 - 1980.

It's hard to keep up with George Clinton's P-Funk mob. From the late 1960s through the early '80s (though the band continued in different incarnations well into the 2000s), Clinton's visionary, family-style amalgam of musicians recorded under different names (Funkadelic, Parliament, Bootsy's Rubber Band), but remained true to a tirelessly funky ethos. Parliament, the most commerically successful branch of the P-Funk empire, specialized in highly polished party jams that lacked the grit and grunge of Funkadelic's acid-rock freakouts. In the '70s, Parliament turned out some of the most unique and memorable dance music of that (or any) era.

Since Parliament's studio albums were sometimes uneven, GOLD provides a fine service by bringing together their best material on two discs. Disc One kicks off with the group's first two singles, 1974's "Up for the Down Stroke" and "Testify"--both of which hold up remarkably--and continues through highlights from Parliament's masterpiece, MOTHERSHIP CONNECTION, and its follow-up, THE CLONES OF DR. FUNKENSTEIN. Disc Two contains "Bop Gun (Endangered Species)" and the 12-inch version of "Flash Light," one of the most complex and booty-moving funk compositions ever, before delving into the disco-inflected material from the turn of the decade. Along with the two-disc TEAR THE ROOF OFF (1974-1980), GOLD is the best one-stop purchase for an overview of these funk monsters.


1 Up For The Down Stroke 5:11
2 Testify 3:57
3 All Your Goodies Are Gone 5:06
4 Chocolate City 5:39
5 Ride On 3:37
6 P. Funk (Wants to Get Funked Up) 7:43
7 Give Up the Funk (Tear the Roof Off the Sucker) 5:48
8 Mothership Connection (Star Child) 6:15
9 Handcuffs 4:03
10 Do That Stuff 4:50
11 Dr. Funkenstein 5:47
12 Funkin' For Fun 5:58
13 Dr. Funkenstein's Supergroovalistic-Prosifunkstication Medley: Let's Take It to the Stage/Take Your Dead Ass Home (Say Som'n Nasty) (Live) 5:10
14 Fantasy Is Reality 5:56

1 Flash Light (12-inch version) 10:48
2 Bop Gun (Endangered Species) 8:33
3 Funkentelechy 10:56
4 Mr. Wiggles 6:46
5 Aqua Boogie (A PyschoAlphaDiscoBetaBioAquaDoLoop) (12-inch version) 9:25
6 Rumpofsteelskin 5:36
7 Party People (Single Edit) 4:47
8 Theme From the Black Hole 4:37
9 The Big Bang Theory 7:11
10 Agony of DeFeet (Single Edit) 4:25

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

News article is edited by: mightysounds - 26-04-2013, 16:21