VA - CTI Records - The Cool Revolution (4CD BoxSet) (2010) MP3/Flac

VA - CTI Records - The Cool Revolution (4CD BoxSet) (2010)
VA - CTI Records - The Cool Revolution (4CD BoxSet) (2010)
EAC rip (secure mode) | FLAC (tracks)+CUE+LOG -> 1.81 Gb | MP3 @320 -> 815 Mb
Full Artwork @ 300 dpi (png) -> 270 Mb | 5% repair rar
2010 Masterworks / Sony Music / CTI | 88697 76821 2
Jazz / Fusion / Soul Jazz / Brazilian Jazz

Remastered for the first time using the original two-track analog tapes, this brand new 4-CD set celebrates the vintage years of CTI, when a distinctive style and sound were born. Over 5 hours of music showcase all the major artists on the CTI roster, both in solo performances and in the unforgettable collaborations that made each CTI album so distinctive. Includes a lavishly illustrated 20-page, LP-sized booklet containing rare photos, plus new liner notes by noted jazz critic Dan Ouellette with comments by CTI artists and enthusiasts.

In 1967, producer Creed Taylor founded a new jazz label called Creed Taylor Incorporated (CTI). The label started out under A&M but "went solo" in 1970, so 2010 is 40 years since they became an independent label. They signed some big names such as Freddie Hubbard and Stanley Turrentine, and helped launch the careers of emerging talent like George Benson. CTI folded in 1978, but its reputation lives on, and now the 40th Anniversary is being celebrated with a new 4-CD "box" set. I say "box" in quotes because the CDs are actually housed in a gatefold LP-like package.

CTI was known for putting out jazz records that were superbly produced and arranged (production by Taylor, most arrangements by Don Sebesky), with free-flowing music that was improvisatory but more accessible to the pop audience. The four discs on this set are an excellent representation of the spectrum of music that's the legacy of CTI. Each CD is about a different theme. Disc 1, "Straight Up," features a more traditional style of jazz (but still funky!), with artists such as Turrentine, Hubbard, and Ron Carter. Disc 2, called "Deep Grooves/Big Hits," includes CTI's only real radio hit, Deodato's take on "Thus Spake Zarathustra," a.k.a. "Theme from 2001." It also gives us some cuts from the Kudu sub-label, CTI's more R&B-flavored imprint. "The Brazilian Connection" on Disc 3 showcases Taylor's appreciation of Brazilian music (something I share), with artists from Brazil (ex., Airto) and US musicians like Paul Desmond doing the Brazilian thing. The fourth and final CD, "Cool and Classic," lives up to its title, with both Cool Jazz (ex., Chet Baker) and various interpretations of classical themes in a jazz vein.

This 40th Anniv. CTI set is an enjoyable journey into the past, providing roughly five hours of topnotch jazz from the `70s, and a worthwhile portrait of a legendary jazz label. My only real frustration with this purchase is how the sale price has fluctuated so much within a few days of release. Had I merely waited one week to buy this, I could have saved some serious dough!

It has been a very long wait for any kind of decent box set of CTI recordings. While this new set is not entirely comprehensive it will do until a more complete accounting comes along. What it does offer is a fine collection of some of the best tracks the label ever laid down. The producers have combined cool wth classic jazz, big band with brazilian sets, all in glorious remastered sound. And that is perhaps this set's biggest asset: the sound is warm and rich, clean and clear. Columbia Legacy reissued many of the classic CTI LP's onto CD in the late 1990's with 20-bit remstering. The sound here on this set is a huge improvement over even those sonic gems.

The packaging with this new box is also quite clever. Emulating the iconic CTI high-gloss look, this set offers four CDs in a colorful 12"x12" LP gatefold cover. Included is a large format booklet with a fine introductory narrative, although what is really needed is a more complete historical description, such as Ashley Kahn's wonderful "The House That Trane Built" about Impulse Records, Creed Taylor's inspiration for CTI Records.


01 - Stanley Turrentine - Sugar
02 - Hubert Laws - Moment's Notice
03 - Ron Carter - So What
04 - Chet Baker - Autumn Leaves
05 - Stanley Turrentine with Milt Jackson - Speed Ball
06 - Freddie Hubbard - The Intrepid Fox
07 - Randy Weston - Ifrane
08 - Don Sebesky feat. Freddie Hubbard & Grover Washington Jr. - Free As A Bird
09 - George Benson - So What

01 - Freddie Hubbard - Red Clay
02 - Johnny Hammond - It's Too Late
03 - Esther Phillips - Home Is Where The Hatred Is
04 - Hank Crawford - We Got A Good Thing Going
05 - George Benson - White Rabbit
06 - Hubert Laws - Fire And Rain
07 - Esther Phillips - What A Difference A Day Makes
08 - Joe Farrell - Follow Your Heart
09 - Deodato - Also Sprach Zarathustra (2001)
10 - Grover Washington Jr. - Mister Magic

01 - Antonio Carlos Jobim - Stone Flower
02 - Astrud Gilberto with Stanley Turrentine - Ponteio
03 - Freddie Hubbard - First Light
04 - Stanley Turrentine - Salt Song
05 - Hubert Laws - Pensativa
06 - Airto - Tombo In 7/4
07 - Milt Jackson - Sunflower
08 - Airto - Return To Forever
09 - Paul Desmond - Wave
10 - Deodato - Carly & Carole
11 - Antonio Carlos Jobim - Brazil [Alternate Take]

01 - Gerry Mulligan & Chet Baker - My Funny Valentine
02 - Ron Carter - All Blues
03 - Don Sebesky feat. Paul Desmond - Song To A Seagull
04 - Hubert Laws - Pavane
05 - Chet Baker - What'll I Do
06 - Bob James - Westchester Lady
07 - Kenny Burrell - A Child Is Born
08 - George Benson - Take Five
09 - Jim Hall - Concierto De Aranjuez