« Sara Craig - E.P. (1991), Swee...
Boomerang - Boomerang (1986) »
The Coconuts - Don't Take My Coconuts (1983) & Killer Bees (1991)

The Coconuts - Don't Take My Coconuts (1983) & Killer Bees (1991)

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

So it only makes sense to do a post on the two albums released by the Coconuts, after last week's Boomerang post.  And thanks to Isle visitor Vance, I can!  He had and kindly shared the very rare second album Killer Bees, and for that I'm eternally grateful! :) There isn't really much to add in terms of info on the group, as I pretty much covered their history in the Boomerang post.  The original Coconuts from Kid Creole & The Coconuts were Adriana Kaegi, Cheryl Poirier and Taryn Hagey. (Note: While Kid Creole's entire band was also supposed to be considered part of 'The Coconuts', the ladies themselves were most commonly believed to be the sole owners of the moniker.)  With the group's success, the ladies were encouraged by Kid Creole aka August Darnell to record an album of their own, and they were quickly signed by EMI.  Darnell took over writing and producing duties, and included one of his previous singles, "Don't Take My Coconuts", on the album to help boost it, even though the ladies don't appear on the track.  As a result, the album wasn't much of a departure from Kid Creole & The Coconuts music other than that the ladies' vocals were featured more prominently.  Their first single was "Did You Have To Love Me Like You Did", and it managed to reach #60 in the UK charts.  The two follow-up singles, "Ticket To The Tropics" and "If I Only Had A Brain" (which was a take on the Scarecrow's song from The Wizard Of Oz), failed to chart and the ladies returned to back-up duties for Kid Creole.  Then, when the ladies wanted to pursue an independent career as Boomerang in 1985, Taryn Hagey decided not to be a part of it and left Kid Creole And The Coconuts as well.  After Boomerang failed to make any impact, Adriana and Cheryl returned to Kid Creole & The Coconuts, and Taryn was replaced by Swede Janique Svedberg.  The three ladies continued with the group until 1991, when their second Coconuts album was released - but on Darnell's indie Creole label, and only in Japan.  The album was executive produced by Darnell, but the sound was less tropical and much poppier (if still quite eclectic).  By then Kid Creole & The Coconuts' popularity was fading, however, and Killer Bees went unnoticed. Soon after, Adriana and Janique left Kid Creole & The Coconuts for good, and Cheryl didn't last too much longer.  Darnell enlisted other ladies to take their place and they still record and tour as Kid Creole & The Coconuts.  While Adriana's time with the group was mostly positive and resulted in a varied entertainment career, including the making of a documentary on her time with the group, Janique ended up with a severe drug addiction.  After overcoming it, she studied extensively about addiction and has become a very successful interventionist and life coach.  She has also starred in the reality show Swedish Housewives Of New York, a Swedish version of the popular Bravo Real Housewives franchise.

Video for Did You Have To Love Me Like You Did

Performance of Did You Have To Love Me Like You Did

Download Don't Take My Coconuts

1 Don't Take My Coconuts
2 Naughty Boy
3 Maladie D'Amour
4 Ticket To The Tropics
5 Indiscreet
6 Kriminal-Tango
7 Did You Have ToLove Me Like You Did
8 If I Only Had A Brain
9 The Glory That Was Eden

 Download Killer Bees

1 Double On Back
2 My Hero
3 How Long Can You Live Alone?
4 Happiness
5 Standing Tall
6 Killer Bees
7 Dacquiri, Dacquira
8 The Men I Meet!
9 You're Great When You're Straight
10 Fashion

The album code is : ODI3008306

Rockie... | P.O.D Music | Lee van | Fatal Fusion Ãà| Emma Shapplin - The Greatest Hits | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Ken Laszlo - Red Man 1989 Bleeding Storm - Has Science Gone Too Far? (ep 2014) Funeral Fornication - The Lamentation (2016) Lustful - Profane (2007) Lustful - The Almighty Facets (1995) True Riot – The Riot Goes On (2016) Ahmad Kharab Salim - Blues Suite (1958) AC/DC - Complete Vinyl Replica Series [20 mini LPs] (2007-2008) Art Boys Collection - Stoned Wall (1972) (2001) Lossless VA - Disco 1971-1982 (mit Ilja Richter) - 2009-2011 (Part 2 - Year 1971) Miroslav Zbirka - Light Of My Life (1982) LP Jenna Torres - A Womans Touch (2014) Tatsuro Yamashita - Moonglow (1979) Reissue 2002 Balkan Beat Box - Nu Made Remixes (2009) Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 2" (1993) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Roby Duke "Not The Same" (1992) - CCM / Westcoast Rock- America "Highway - 30 Years Of" (2000) -Folk Pop / Soft Rock / Westcoast Rock- The Cornelius Bumpus Quartet ‎"Beacon" (1983) -Contemporary Jazz- Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP Richard Tee - Natural Ingredients - Complete LP Michael Jackson - One Day In Your Life - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)