Miguel Zenon & The Rhythm Collective - Oye!!! Live In Puerto Rico (2013) MP3/Flac

Miguel Zenon & The Rhythm Collective - Oye!!! Live In Puerto Rico (2013)
Artist: Miguel Zenon & The Rhythm Collective
Title Of Album: Oye!!! Live In Puerto Rico
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Miel Music
Genre: Latin Jazz
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 64:47
Total Size: 149 Mb

Covers: Front
01. Oye!!! (Intro) ( 1:27)
02. Oye Como Va (14:32)
03. El Necio (12:55)
04. Hypnotized (14:10)
05. Jos Nigeria ( 8:28)
06. Double Edge (11:29)
07. The Edge (Outro) ( 1:43)
On OYE!! Live in Puerto Rico, alto saxophonist, composer and MacArthur Foundation Fellow Miguel Zenon and his quartet (Tony Escapa, electric bassist Aldemar Valentin and percussionist Reynaldo De Jesus) make good on their stated mission, which is to bring greater jazz awareness to their native Puerto Rico. In this recording, they are treated like conquering heroes; the quartet has the rare ability to communicate jazzs art and relevance to all audiences, and the fervent applause heard on this recording is testament.
Zenon is no stranger to merging jazz and Latin music, as you can hear on recent Marsalis Music recordings such as Esta Plena and Alma Adentro. But OYE!! is first and foremost a live recording, and its infused with all the blood, sweat and glory of both a great performance and at times, a street fight. It communicates on a visceral level, each musician improvising and scorching the earth clean with Zenons often beautiful, always spirited alto saxophone leading the way.
OYE!! opens with a stomping downbeat accent and a percolating Latin rhythm, leading into the Tito Puente cha cha cha-turned Carlos Santana hit, Oye Como Va. Zenon manipulates the songs familiar melody while The Rhythm Collective cooks the groove with a dry funk charge. The group constantly teases and toys with the songs changui rhythm, electric bass prowling, drums floating and stinging playful, but musically serious and powerful. El Necio increases the tempo and the melodic fervor, trading between Zenons alto excursions and Valentins fragrant solo bass, which recalls Jaco Pastorius by way of John Patitucci, his warmth connecting on a gut level. JOS Nigeria culls an Afrobeat, Fela-styled vibe, its undulating rhythm also recalling Weather Reports sweltering Black Market. Double Edge closes the album in high vamp mode, Escapa and Valentin laying down a scalding rhythm while Zenon sails above the fray.
Though fusion is a bad word even today, OYE!! Live in Puerto Rico is an exemplary fusion of Latin rhythm, rich improvisation and beautiful melody all held aloft by excellent leadership. If jazz had 10 more Miguel Zenons, the idiom would be in much better cultural standing.

Buy Premium Account and download as fast as you can or you will lose file you need ( File death because of Copyright Infringement )

Download ( Uploaded )


Download ( Extabit )


Download ( DizzCloud )


Download ( Lumfile )


Click my nick to see more my articles