Magic Sam & Shakey Jake - Live At Sylvio's 1968 MP3/Flac

Size: 131,4 MB
Time: 56:48
File: MP3 @ 320K/s
Released: 2013
Styles: Chicago Blues
Label: Rock Beat Records
Art: Front

01. Juke (3:07)
02. Reconsider Baby (3:46)
03. Just Like A Fish (2:54)
04. Dirty Work Going On (4:35)
05. Rock Me Baby (4:37)
06. I've Been Down So Long (2:37)
07. I Cant Please You (3:26)
08. Just Got To Know (3:40)
09. I'm Tore Down (3:16)
10. Baby Scratch My Back (4:02)
11. Sawed Off Shotgun (2:45)
12. Backstroke (2:31)
13. All Your Love (4:14)
14. She's Nineteen Years Old (5:23)
15. Magic Sam Interview (0:46)
16. All Your Love (2:39)
17. Magic Sam's Boogie (2:22)

If you love the real things, the RAW blues, you cant miss with this. --Jimmie Vaughn

A fresh, exciting, thoroughly electrified guitar sound exploded across Chicagos west side during the late 50s. Future legends pushed the stylistic envelope, taking the ensemble approach perfected by Muddy Waters and Howlin Wolf adding their blazing lead guitar solos to the mix.

But the king of West Side blues guitar was a young gent named Sam Maghett. You may know him by his singular stage name, Magic Sam. He had a style all his own, laced with vibrato and rapid fire barrages of bent notes. His soul steeped vocal delivery was every bit as distinctive as his fretwork.

The precise date when this performance was captured at Silvio s has been in question over the years. December of 1966 is sited by one reliable source and that seems realistic. Mark Thompson remained Sam s right hand man on bass, Odie Payne, Elmore James long time drummer sat in on drums and Sams uncle, Shakey Jake, sat in to share the vocal load and blow some harmonica.
Magic Sam broke out at the Ann Arbor Blues Festival but sadly, Sam passed away on December 1, 1969 of a heart attack at age 32.

Live At Sylvio's 1968

Mo' Albums...
Rob Orlemans & Half Past Midnight - Nightlicks
The New Black Seven - Hangovers & Heartbreak