« Patricia Bermudez - La Bermude...
John Butler - Jazz & R&B - 30 ... »
This Ain’t Chicago The Underground Sound Of UK House & Acid 1987-1991

This Ain’t Chicago The Underground Sound Of UK House & Acid 1987-1991

Electronic House Trance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

This Ain’t Chicago The Underground Sound Of UK House & Acid 1987-1991
Label: Strut
Catalogue#: STRUT085CDX
Style: House
Rls Date: 25 June 2012
Source: 2 CD
Quality: 320 kbps
Strut presents an all new compilation placing the spotlight on early house music and acid emerging from the UK during the mid to late ‘80s, ‘This Ain’t Chicago’. Compiled by respected DJ / producer Richard Sen (Padded Cell, Bronx Dogs), the album celebrates the heady era when UK producers were responding to the first wave of Chicago house and documents the underground clubs that first championed the music – as the early rave scene and acid house kicked in at London clubs like Shoom and Spectrum, deeper and darker house nights thrived like RIP at Clink Street, Confusion and The Jungle and in warehouse parties around East London. Manchester too adopted house music at an early stage, most famously at The Hacienda’s Nude night. As well as an in-depth look at the music and the accompanying scene through the DJs and producers that were there, ‘This Ain’t Chicago’ investigates media and clubland's attitude to the emerging sound during house music’s early days, as early resistance from London’s rare groove and hip hop scene gave way to an explosion of dance music and rave culture. Musically, the album draws on both underground classics and lesser known tracks including early outings by producer Julian Jonah, A Guy Called Gerald, Trevor Fung’s Playtime Toons, Eddie Richards and Ian B’s Rio Rhythm Band and Baby Ford. The compilation also celebrates a host of excellent but short-lived UK DIY labels including Ruby Red from West Midlands, G-Force out of Essex, Rhythmbeat, Chill and Catt. “This album features many personal favourites and the tracks were particularly inspirational to me as a DJ and clubber at the time,” reflects Richard Sen. With current productions drawing heavily on early house sounds and production techniques, this album brings to light many previously unsung classics from the UK underground, still sounding as vibrant and relevant as during the early days of house.

1. Bang The Party – Bang Bang You’re Mine (Full Vocal Remix) 6:11
2. Window Smashers – Free To Be 5:44
3. Julian Jonah – Jealousy And Lies 6:10
4. Baby Ford – Crashing 5:28
5. Man With No Name – From Within The Mind Of My 909 4:57
6. Rio Rhythm Band – Cuba Jakkin’ 6:40
7. Playtime Toons – Shaker Song 4:24
8. Jail Break – Mentality 5:10
9. Exocet – Safety Zone 4:35
10. Return Of The Living Acid – Twin Tub 5:34
11. May – Love Me Baby 5:09
12. CXX – The Comfort Of Strangers (Mix by Rhythm Doctor) (RS edit) 5:40
13. Julie Stapleton – Where’s The Love Gone (Remix) 5:44
14. Sly And Lovechild – The World According To Sly & Lovechild (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix) 8:21
15. Ability II – Pressure Dub 10:06
16. M. D. EMM – 1666 (Pyro-Maniac Mix) 6:32
17. Colm III – Take Me High (Mansion Mix) 7:13
18. S.L.F. – Show Me What You Got (Acid Mix – Part 1) 6:42
19. Confidental – Psychopath 5:26
20. US – Born In The North 5:10
21. Annette – Dream 17 6:17
22. Rohan Delano – Inflight 5:17
23. This Ain’t Chicago – Ride The Rhythm (Acid Not Placid) 6:15
24. K.C.C. – Future III (Richard Sen Edit) 6:24

The album is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

The album is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

The album code is : ODI2170530

DARKER THAN BLUE - SOUL FROM JAMDOWN | ZÊ Paraíba | Tetsuo Sakurai Vital World (2010) | Journey - Greatest Hits 1978-1997 (2003) DVDRip | VA - British Rock Symphony (2000) DVDRip | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Pink Floyd - The Knebworth 1990 [DVDRip] Journey - Greatest Hits: 1978-1997 (2003) [DVDRip] Omega - Koncert: Nepstadion 1994 (2003) [DVDRip] Type O Negative - Video Collection 1993-2007 [DVDRip] VA - British Rock Symphony (2000) [DVDRip] Arcade High - Kingdom (2016) Sunna Gunnlaugs - Distilled (2013) Eleni Karaindrou - Euripides: Medea (2014) [HDTracks] King Curtis - The New Scene Of King Curtis (1992) Enigma - Fall of a Rebel Angel [Japan SHM-CD] (2016) Reggy van Oers - Taciturn Manner (2016) VA - Progressive Selection Vol 2 (2016) VA - Elicuts Vol. 1 (2016) DJ ICE TITS - The DJ ICE TITS Album (2016) Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)