« Foghat - Foghat Live (High Ene...
Hot Tuna - Phosphorescent Rat ... »
Hot Tuna - America\'s Choice (Classic Album US 1975)

Hot Tuna - America\'s Choice (Classic Album US 1975)

• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Size: 85.2 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan 24-Bit Remaster

America's Choice was the fifth album by the American blues rock band Hot Tuna, recorded in 1974 and released the following year. The first of the "Rampage" trilogy albums (the others being Yellow Fever and Hoppkorv) recorded by the now power trio, it marked a major shift in musical direction by the group. With new drummer Bob Steeler, Tuna now performed in a predominantly hard rock style rather than their previous more acoustic flavored manner.

Seven of the eight songs are Kaukonen originals, the cover being Robert Johnson's "Walkin' Blues". The album is characterized by Kaukonen's multi-layered and hard edged guitar solos and Bob Steeler's frantic drumming, which give a somewhat schizoid feel to the entire proceedings. 

Songs resonate between the somber and the frenetic, which adds to the moody atmospherics, especially on "Serpent of Dreams" and "I Don't Wanna Go". Three of tracks, "Funky #7", "Invitation" and "Walkin' Blues", often evolved into extended jams when performed live at this time. The album rose to #75 on the Billboard charts.

Hot Tuna returned to a heavier sound on their fifth album, which, although it again was dominated by Jorma Kaukonen's compositions, leaned more heavily on extended electric-guitar solos and even included a Robert Johnson classic, "Walkin' Blues." Drummer Bob Steeler replaced Sammy Piazza as of this release. The result was a modest recovery from the disappointing sales of The Phosphorescent Rat, although not a complete return to form. 

The album was originally released in Quadraphonic.

The album cover art depicts a box of laundry detergent, complete with dripping suds, labeled "America's Choice: Hot Tuna". On one side of the detergent box, a contents label lists the musicians as the "active ingredients", and also says, "Pure, unadulterated sounds with amplified additives and the necessary polytonal ingredients to handle heavy loads." On another side of the box is a "warning" stating, "This album to be played at full volume for maximum effect."

01. "Sleep Song" (Jorma Kaukonen) — 4:23 
02. "Funky #7" (Kaukonen, Jack Casady) — 5:47 
03. "Walkin' Blues" (Robert Johnson) — 5:22 
04. "Invitation" (Kaukonen) — 6:50 
05. "Hit Single #1" (Kaukonen) — 5:10 
06. "Serpent of Dreams" (Kaukonen) — 6:52 
07. "I Don't Wanna Go" (Kaukonen) — 4:56 
08. "Great Divide: Revisited" (Kaukonen) — 5:16 

1. Link
2. Link

The album code is : ODI2168970

Ottmar Liebert - Bare Wood (2002-2012) | Jack Jezzro - Bossa Nova Romance - One Hour of Romantic Instrumental Bossa Nova Music (201 | Karizma - | C21 Albums~~ | leben | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Pink Floyd - The Knebworth 1990 [DVDRip] Journey - Greatest Hits: 1978-1997 (2003) [DVDRip] Omega - Koncert: Nepstadion 1994 (2003) [DVDRip] Type O Negative - Video Collection 1993-2007 [DVDRip] VA - British Rock Symphony (2000) [DVDRip] Arcade High - Kingdom (2016) Sunna Gunnlaugs - Distilled (2013) Eleni Karaindrou - Euripides: Medea (2014) [HDTracks] King Curtis - The New Scene Of King Curtis (1992) Enigma - Fall of a Rebel Angel [Japan SHM-CD] (2016) Reggy van Oers - Taciturn Manner (2016) VA - Progressive Selection Vol 2 (2016) VA - Elicuts Vol. 1 (2016) DJ ICE TITS - The DJ ICE TITS Album (2016) Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)