« Kaiserdisco Presents KD Music ...
Howlin\' Wolf - Sings The Blue... »
The Golden Dawn - Power Plant (Great Psychedelia US 1968)

The Golden Dawn - Power Plant (Great Psychedelia US 1968)

• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Size: 63.7 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped By: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan 24-Bit Remaster 

Nowhere near as well known as Roky Erickson and The 13th Floor Elevators, to our ears fellow Texans The Golden Dawn are actually the more impressive band.  'Course those sentiments are bound to upset Erickson fans and will do little to rectify the fact that outside of hardcore collectors' circles these guys remain criminally overlooked.

Living in Austin, Texas, singer George Kinney grew up with Roky Erickson, attending the same schools.  While in high school the two played together in a local garage band The Fugitives.  With The Fugitives collapsing, Kinney moved on to join The Chelsea (along with future 13th Floor Elevator guitarist Powell St. John).  When that group called it quits, he was invited to join fellow high school friends guitarist Jimmy Bird, bassist Bill Hallmark, guitarist Tom Ramsey and drummer Bobby Rector in The Golden Dawn.

Kinney's friendship with Erickson also proved handy in terms of career development.  Erickson was largely responsible for getting Leland Rogers' International Artists label to sign the band in 1967 (coincidently Erickson and the Elevators were already signed to International Artists).

Produced by Rogers (yes, Kenny's brother), 1967's "Power Plant" actually bares a strong resemblance to The Elevators' catalog.  The two bands certainly share the same mid-60s; low-tech Texas-psych roots, though to their credit these guys don't sound as strung out as The Elevators and (at least to our ears), Kinney's a better singer (though his fragile and occasionally shrill voice stands as an acquired taste).  With Kinney and drummer Rector responsible for the majority of the 10 songs, musically the set's quite diverse.  Tracks such as the opener "Evolution" and "The Way Please" boast a pleasing mix of pretty melodies and surprisingly complex and intriguing lyrics. Even better are the harder rocking numbers.  Propelled by Bird and Ramsey's fuzz guitars, "Starvation", "I'll Be Around" and "My Time" are simply killer.  Going out on a limb, we'll say this is a must-own psych classic and should be on most folk's top-40 psych lists.  (Ignoring the illicit cannabis/mushroom subject matter, the LP's granted an extra star for the cool day-glo cover art.) (Bill Hallmark) 

01.) Evolution (George Kinney - Bobby Rector) - 3:28
02.) The Way Please (George Kinney - Bobby Rector) - 5:08
03.) Starvation (George Kinney - Bobby Rector) - 2:52
04.) I'll Be Around (George Kinney - Bobby Rector) - 3:00
05.) Seeing Is Believing (George Kinney - Bobby Rector) - 2:21
06.) My Time (Jimmy Bird - Bill Hallmark - George Kinney) - 3:50
07.) A Nice Surprise (Bill Hallmark - George Kinney - Bobby Rector) - 2:51 
08.) Every Day (George Kinney - Bobby Rector) - 3:59 
09.) Tell Me Why (George Kinney - Bobby Rector) - 2:07 
10.) Reaching Out To You (Bill Hallmark - George Kinney) - 2:37

1. Länk
2. Länk

The album code is : ODI2168963

Jenkins | Prinz | Anica Gantu Taloi - Neicuta cu ochi caprui | Bing Crosby - Gold (Remasterd - 2008) 2 CD's./ | Munich City Nights - Vol. 36 (1994) | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Lumen - Хроника Бешеных Дней (2016) The Hero - Miracles (2016) Eddy Malm Band - Northern Lights 2016 Larry Carlton & Steve Lukather - At Blue Note Tokyo (Live) (2016) Ralph Carmichael And The Young People – I Looked For Love (1970) Pictish Trail - Future Echoes (2016) Keith Jarrett - Bop-Be (1977/2015) [HDTracks] Tony Banks - A Curious Feeling (2016) [Remastered] HDtracks Vladimir Ashkenazy - Bach: Italian Concerto, French Overture, Aria Variata (2014) [HDTracks] Yvonne Elliman - Night Flight / Yvonne (2016) AC/DC - Transmission Impossible Legendary Broadcasts From The 1970s (2016) Johnny Bristol - Hang On In There Baby (1974/2016) Ike & Tina Turner - What You Hear Is What You Get (1971/2012) Matt Berry - The Small Hours (2016) Rupert Holmes "Rainy Night In Georgia" (1980) -Soft Rock- Rupert Holmes "Adventure" (1980) -Westcoast Rock / Soft Rock Rupert Holmes "Rupert Holmes" (1975) -Soft Rock- Lindsey Webster "Back To Your Heart" (2016) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "You Change" (2015) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "Lindsey Webster" (2013) -Westcoast Jazz / Soft Rock- Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Anli Sugano - Just Groovin' - Complete LP A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)