Neighb´rhood Childr´n - Selftitled (Psych-Folk-Rock US 1967-68) MP3/Flac

Size: 120 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped By: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan 24-Bit remaster

From just south of Medford, Oregon in the tiny burg of Phoenix (population 600) came the teen band the Navarros. Guitarist Rick Bolz, drummer John Morrison and bassist George Glenn hooked up with singer/keyboardist Dyan Hoffman. After cutting a rowdy single for an Oregon label called Corby, the band came to San Francisco for a weekend and quickly became psychedelicized, moving as far away from the previous surf and R&B stance as their fuzztone pedals and Farfisa organs would carry them.

After losing members to the draft (guitarist Ron Raschdorf and drummer W.A. Farrens replaced the departing John Morrison and temporary guitarist George Campbell), they changed their name to the Neighb'rhood Children. Recording their lone album at Golden State Recorders for release on the microscopic Acta label, 1968 looked to be the year for the band.

They toured constantly behind the album, working everything from go-go clubs to one-off concerts with the Who, the Grass Roots and a small mini-tour with the Beau Brummels. Upon several close calls on the road, the group found religion and changed their name to White Horse. After finding that no label would release their second album (by all reports much more contemplative, laidback and acoustic than their debut), the group disbanded in 1970. Bolz responded to the years of road burnout by getting back to nature, buying a surplus parachute, turning it into a teepee and living off the land, hunting and fishing, while the others returned to home, hearth and semi-normal lives. (Cub Koda, All Music Guide)

Marinated in influences as mind-splintering as the mushroom folk/rock blast of the Jefferson Airplane as well as the feel-good pristine pop of the Turtles, the Neighb'rhood Childr'n's one album trades hands these days for sums usually mentioned in ransom notes. We've added a dozen unreleased brownies, spun gold from the original session tapes, and Prof. Jud has squeezed the band's legend from vocalist Dyan Hoffman and guitarist Ric Bolz in this addition to the Dazed's acclaimed and essential Quakes From The Eureka State series. (Sundazed)

01. Up Down Turn Around World
02. Long Years In Space
03. Feeling Zero
04. Over The Rainbow
05. Changes Brought To Me
06. Please Leave Me Alone
07. Chocolate Angel
08. Happy Child
09. Patterns
10. Happy World Of Captain K
11. She's Got No Indentification
12. Hobbit's Dream

Bonus Tracks:
13. Can't Buy Me Love
14. That's What's Happening
15. Sunday Afternoon
16. Feeling Zero [alternate version]
17. The Little Black Egg
18. Tomorrow's Gone
19. Louie, Louie
20. I Need Love
21. Yesterday's Thoughts
22. Woman Think
23. Long Years In Space [alternate version]
24. Behold The Lillies