Tetsu - Selftitled (Great Progressive Folkrock, Japan 1972) MP3/Flac

Size: 81.8 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan 24-Bit Remaster

Yamauchi was born in 1946 in Fukuoka. In the late 1960s, he played with the band Samurai. His involvement with Samurai led to him working as a session musician in both Tokyo and London. In 1972 he recorded the album Kossoff, Kirke, Tetsu and Rabbit with Free guitarist Paul Kossoff and drummer Simon Kirke, together with keyboard player John "Rabbit" Bundrick. He subsequently joined Free and in 1973 the Faces (replacing Ronnie Lane.), When Faces broke up in 1975, he returned to Japan, and he has become a fixture on the Japanese music scene.

The good one blues rock album by the former leader of Japanese progressive group Samurai recorded in fall 1972. There was an experience previously with musicians from Free (album Kossoff, Kirke, Tetsu and Rabbit was released in 1971) and it is so noticeable: the opening "Wiki Wiki" is similar to alittle bit funky Free, and "Why" - so typical Free track in their classic style. There is soul influence in some tracks but not too much. Among album's ten tracks - three instrumental, most successfull from them is "First Time" with the lead electic organ stylistically between Atomic Rooster and Booker T. & MG's.

Yamauchi gathered pretty strong cast, that included two drummers - Yuji Harada, who played with Tetsu in Samurai, and an omnipresent Hiro Tsunoda. A part of musicians in 1973 took part in the project Friends, in particular, ex-vocalist and harper of The Beavers Ken Narita, The Spiders former keyboardist Katsuo Ohno and guitarist Pipi Sabata. It should be mentioned that vocal parts were given to the three singers, and except Yamauchi himself and Ken Narita, there is an American Eleonore Barooshian (member of female psychedelic trio The Cake, aka Chelsea Lee). It should be recognized that not the all compositions are the same successfull but totally this album is pretty nice.

01. Wiki Wiki - 3.59
02. Alexander Stone - 2.39
03. First Time - 7.04
04. Why - 3.51
05. Dad & Mom - 3.25
06. Who Whould I Be In The World Babe - 3.35
07. How To Cook - 2.35
08. Baby Blue - 3.05
09. Orange Dog - 3.15
10. Sun Down - 4.28

1. https://rapidshare.com/files/831218676/Tetsu_1972_Album.rar
2. http://uploadmirrors.com/download/UNFQFV0J/Tetsu_1972_Album.rar