« Neon Rock Garden (NRg) - \"Nev...
Um, about those re-uploads fro... »
Christ in Concrete - Future Men (198?, Sound & Vision)

Christ in Concrete - Future Men (198?, Sound & Vision)

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Until I get the opportunity to rip some more wax, I thought I'd share another album that I downloaded a few years back from one of my favorite defunct music blog, Feelin' Kinda Froggy.  From what few details I've been able to glean online regarding this Dutch trio, Future Men was released either in 1986 or '87.  Christ in Concrete featured a mouthpiece whose timbre slotted somewhere between Roddy Frame and Robyn Hitchcock.  Automatically, you could reasonably surmise this would give them a pronounced Anglophile edge, and to a certain extent you'd be correct, but sonically they bear more in common with Guadalcanal Diary than say, the Jesus and Mary Chain.  There's no abundance of mystique to their schtick, which often strikes me as ripped straight from a period 120 Minutes playlist.  Plenty of slicing guitar salvos too, though the songwriting is frequently half-baked, even shoddy at times.  A few tweaks here and there could have worked wonders for their otherwise powerful performances.  Future Men's most convincing moments - "What Is a Fact," "Never Fall," "The World is Ice" would have served CIC more flatteringly if they (and maybe a couple other titles) had been pared down to a consistently satisfying ep, but alas, it wasn't my call. Make of this what you will. 

01. Future Men
02. The Barracks
03. Never Fall
04. Remainses in Skin
05. The World is Ice
06. Dancing Man
07. Pain Likes Pray
08. What is a Facct
09. Really True
10. Crying/No End
11. Little Woman

(Ads... Please contact to us)

The album code is : ODI2166811

Otto Reutter - Alles weg/'n de Leut/' | DIRE STRAITS-brothers in arms 1985 | Statler Brothers The - Carry Me Back (1973) | Fantastic Stereo Vol. 10 - Polyphonic Emotions | Shejam |