Floyd Lawson & The Heart Of Stone - Coming Out (1976) MP3/Flac

Floyd Lawson & The Heart Of Stone - Coming Out (1976)
Floyd Lawson And The Heart Of Stone ‎– Coming Out
Label:Flo Records ‎– FLO-89
Format:Vinyl, LP
Genre:Funk / Soul
A1 Theme From S.W.A.T.
A2 What's Come Over Me?
A3 K-Jee
A4 Sunshine
A5 That's The Way I Like It
B1 Oil In The Ground
B2 Love Won't Let Me Wait
B3 Rated X
B4 Air I Breathe
B5 Only Takes A Minute

A rare second album from Floyd Lawson & The Hearts Of Stone -- recorded half a decade after the group's more famous album on Motown -- and with a very different, very funky sound! The grooves here show a lot more influence of the mid 70s soul scene -- and although the harmonies still get a fair bit of focus, the rhythms do too -- and a number of the cuts here have a tight funky sound that's quite different than the group's sweeter soul from before. The instrumentation is quite strong overall -- played in an ensemble mode with echoes of New York and Miami funk, particularly the more upbeat mode of the latter half of the 70s. A number of cuts here are covers, and titles include great versions of "K Gee", "Theme From Swat", "Oil In The Ground", "That's The Way I Like It", "Rated X", "Only Takes A Minute", and "Sunshine".