« Lustre - s/t (1996)
The Wild Giraffes - Right Now ... »
Mrs. Svenson - Flood sessions (1995)

Mrs. Svenson - Flood sessions (1995)

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

I don't know how many of ya'll were paying attention this past summer when I shared a cassette demo of a long defunct Regina, Saskatchewan outfit that went by the name of Mrs. Svenson, but in my write up, I alluded that more recordings were said to exist, particularly a CD, Flood.  As it would come to pass, Flood would never see the opening of it's proverbial gates.  An albums worth of songs was recorded, but never issued due to the band's dissatisfaction with the material.  In any event, I've been given clearance to share them with the public, and considering how stoked I was with that six song tape I consider it something of an honor.

Mrs. Svenson, having culled their moniker from a random search in their local white pages, had been active since the late '80s and had gone through a myriad of lineups, with drummer/vocalist Mark Fleischhaker being the group's only constant presence.  Those aforementioned half dozen "demos" (please refer to the tracklist  in the original post linked above) were to carry over into Flood in the same incarnations, save for a remix of "Fall."  An additional six songs were to encompass the full Flood experience, which are presented here as well.  Also included are alternate versions of a couple songs. 

In my original Mrs. Svenson article I mentioned that the band took some more than discernible cues from Canadian contemporaries the Doughboys.  That comparison is particularly warranted on such melodically indelible slammers as "June," "Fall," and "Shoes," leading me to believe that the 'Boys Crush album was vying for some serious playing time on Svenson's collective boom boxes and in-dashes.  While not wall-to-wall perfection, Flood exudes more than it's fair share of magic, and hinted of even greater things that should/could have been in the offing had the band's luck panned out a little better.  Speaking of which, I'll have more Mrs. Svenson coming your way in the not too distant future.  A big, big thanks goes out to Oxy for stringing this altogether for me, and creating some spiffy sleeve art to boot!

01. Home
02. Life Lesson
03. Stone (mono)
04. Fall
05. June (mono)
06. Flood
07. Waxed
08. Never (mono)
09. All Along
10. Shoes
11. Book of Truth (mono)
12. Glass (mono)
13. Our Situation  (mono)
14. Flood (mono alternate version)
15. Never (mono alternate version)


The album code is : ODI196581

Umberto Balsamo - Natali 1975 | Atlantis - Live 1975 | Henry Townsend - Original St. Louis Blues Live (2015) | VA - De Maxx Long Player 29 (2014) | Various - I Love Mixes Vol.2 ''Fonny De Wulf Megamix'' 1988 | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Aittala - American Nightmare (2016) Fax Ignis - Eponymus (2016) Lossless VA - Walking On The Mountain Paths (2008) Paul Personne, Robben Ford, 'Bumblefoot' Ron Thal - Lost In Paris Blues Band (2016) Zero Nine - Eyes On The Rear-View Mirror (2006) Zero Nine - N.E. Files (2004) Katrina & The Waves - Katrina & The Waves (1985) / Waves (1986) [1996, Remastered Reissue] Prince - I Love Prince (Classic Mixes) (Volume 1) (2016) Kapitan Korsakov - Physical Violence Is The Least Of My Priorities (2016) Jackdevil - Back To The Garage (2016) Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Once Upon A Time In South America (2015) FLAC Andragonia - Oxygen (2016) Frank Zappa - Meat Light: The Uncle Meat Project/Object (2016) Coral - Thrash And Roll (2016) Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 2" (1993) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Roby Duke "Not The Same" (1992) - CCM / Westcoast Rock- America "Highway - 30 Years Of" (2000) -Folk Pop / Soft Rock / Westcoast Rock- Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)