The Clash - Westway to the World (2001) MP3/Flac

The Clash - Westway to the World (2001)
Video: PAL, MPEG2 Video at 45.1 Mbps, 720 x 576 (1.333) at 25.000 fps | Audio: AC-3 2 channels at 256 Kbps, 48.0 KHz
Genre: Punk | Label: Sony BMG | Copy: Untouched | Runtime: 107 min. | 7,27 Gb (DVD-9)
Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
The Clash - Westway to the World (2001)

Many may disagree, but it’s always struck me as rather peculiar that The Clash were labelled as a

punk band. It seems no mention of the movement can go by without the obligatory namedropping of

the (utterly brilliant) Sex Pistols – so here it is – but whereas they and contemporaries such as The

Buzzcocks seemed to plunder traditional rock’n’roll as their main inspiration, The Clash looked more

to blues and the sounds of their native Brixton – which in turn were predominantly the sounds of

Jamaica. Oh, and they definitely knew more than three chords...

It almost seemed to be more a matter of timing, for they certainly hit in that period of the late ‘70s

when a much needed reaction against the pompous wank that was clogging up record stores finally

arrived. Taking a firmly political agenda seemingly more from actual belief rather than a desire for

sensationalism, the whole punk thing certainly gave them the wherewithal to get to the ears of music

lovers after something with a bit more substance – and it also allowed them to grow and prove a

decent longevity compared to most of their contemporaries. After all, despite numerous re-

packagings, the Pistols only ever recorded one proper album, that which no collection is complete

without, Never Mind the Bollocks. But enough about them already!

Westway to the World, a documentary on the rise and fall of The Clash by renowned part of the

British punk scene Don Letts, makes its way to DVD in what is described as a “director’s cut” – so

presumably it’s longer than the original version, or something. At any rate, the main feature serves up

80 minutes covering the seven years that The Clash existed in their near-as-dammit original form

(Topper Headon was ousted when his love for drugs became too much). Fairly chronological, it’s a

melange of archival footage of stage and TV appearances, old interviews etc, combined with recently

recorded chats of refreshing frankness with the main four members - Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul

Simonon and Topper Headon – as well as original drummer Terry Chimes and a selection of journos,

photographers and others from the band’s heyday orbit.

From the common knowledge stuff to the obscure – supporting Shakin’ Stevens, seeing Top of the

Pops’ Pan’s People gyrating to the strains of Bank Robber, through releases such as the awesome

double album assault of London Calling to the somewhat extreme triple-LP Sandinista (they were

supposed to be rebelling against such musical knobheadedness, after all), through to American

breakthrough with the more traditional rock-inspired Combat Rock, this is a thorough look at an

incredibly influential, entertaining and vital band.

Artists: The Clash
- Joe Strummer
- Mick Jones
- Paul Simonon
- Topper Headon

Westway to the World - Film

01. Clash on Broadway
02. Joe Strummer
- "Support Groups"
- "Questions & Answers"
- "Squats/DIY Gear"
- "Getting Equipment"
- "The Spliff Bunker"
- "Punk"
- "The 100 Club"
- "Pistols/Sid"
- "Punks v Teds"
03. Paul Simonon
- "The Group's Name"
- "Guy Stevens"
- "A Night in Jail"
- "White Riot Tour"
- "The I.C.A. Gig"
- "Lester Bangs"
- "Meeting Mick"
- "The Paste Story"
- "A Rabbit Suit ?"
03. Mick Jones
- "Writing Songs"
- "The Last Show"
- "Information"
- "Night of Treason"
- "Influences"
04. Topper Headon
- "Human Drum Machine"
- "Out of Control"
- "The Audition"
- "Guy Stevens"
- "The Ultimatum"
- "Never the Same"
- "Rockin' the Casbah"
05. Discography
- The Clash (UK Version)
- The Clash (US Version)
- Give' Em Enough Rope
- London Calling
- Black Market Clash
- Sandinista!- Disc 1
- Sandinista- Disc 2
- Combat Rock

- Photo Gallery