Buffalo Springfield - Box Set (2001) [FLAC] (Rhino R2 74324) MP3/Flac

Buffalo Springfield - Box Set (2001) [FLAC] (Rhino R2 74324)
Buffalo Springfield - Box Set (2001) [FLAC] (Rhino R2 74324)
EAC Rip | 4CD | FLAC(tracks) - Cue - Log | Artwork | 1.13 GB
Genres: Pop/Rock | Label: Rhino

Review by Richie Unterberger

The plainly named Box Set -- that's the actual title -- contains four CDs by a band that made only three albums in their brief lifetime. It goes without saying that this has a lot of great music, and is an essential purchase for fans of this phenomenal 1960s folk-rock-psychedelic band, containing no less than 36 previously unreleased demos, outtakes, and previously unissued mixes. It's the unreleased stuff that holds the most interest, especially since even on their outtakes, Buffalo Springfield were often superb. Songs like "Neighbor Don't You Worry," "Down Down Down" (which contains seeds of both "Broken Arrow" and the Neil Young solo standout "Country Girl"), "We'll See," and "My Kind of Love" are actually up to the standard of many of the songs that made it onto the official albums. Although acoustic demos of various Young, Stills, and Furay songs are not as strong, they are always at the least pleasant, and often show intriguing, unsuspected sentimental pop and folk leanings. Alternate versions of great songs, such as "Hung Upside Down" and a piano-only "Four Days Gone," are substantially different from the fully arranged familiar versions, yet worthwhile performances in their own right. At the same time, this box -- which, other than the last disc, sequences the material in the chronological order it was recorded -- is not all it could have been. First of all, for some reason, this does not have everything the band ever released. Not only are a few songs from Last Time Around missing (including one of Richie Furay's best moments, "In the Hour of Not Quite Rain"), but the nine-minute version of "Bluebird" (available on the two-LP Buffalo Springfield compilation) and the Neil Young-sung take of "Down to the Wire" (which came out on his Decade collection) are also absent. First-rate songs from Last Time Around, including "On the Way Home," "Pretty Girl Why," and "Four Days Gone," are represented by different demos and remixes, though it would have been easily possible to include the official final versions too. Worst of all, disc four is comprised solely of all the material from the group's brilliant first two albums -- which would not be cause for criticism, except that identical versions of every one of them (except for "Mr. Soul" and "Baby Don't Scold Me") also appear at some point in the course of the preceding three discs. This bizarre repetition is doubly galling both because that space could have been used for remaining Last Time Around absentees, and because other quality unreleased material, both studio and live, is known to exist, and is far more hungrily desired by fans eager to purchase a box set in the first place. Fortunately you can still (almost) complete the Springfield discography by buying Last Time Around itself. The sound is very good, and on the rarities, notably superior to bootlegs (such as the famous Stampede) on which some of the songs have previously surfaced. The 82-page booklet, primarily comprised of vintage clippings, is nice too, even if specific details and anecdotes about the unreleased songs in particular would have been good. As good as it is, though, this could have been one of the greatest rock box sets of all time, if only a saner approach to presenting the band's complete official albums, and more rarities, in one place had been employed.


Buffalo Springfield Box Set [disc 1] (61:07)

01 There Goes My Babe
02 Come On
03 Hello, I've Returned
04 Out Of My Mind
05 Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
06 I'm Your Kind Of Guy
07 Baby Don't Scold Me
08 Neighbor Don't You Worry
09 We'll See
10 Sad Memory
11 Can't Keep Me Down
12 Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing
13 Go And Say Goodbye
14 Sit Down I Think I Love You
15 Leave
16 Hot Dusty Roads
17 Everybody's Wrong
18 Burned
19 Do I Have To Come Right Out And Say It
20 Out Of My Mind
21 Pay The Price
22 Down Down Down
23 Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
24 Neighbor Don't You Worry (Remix)

Buffalo Springfield Box Set (Disc 2) (61:29)

01 Down Down Down (Remix)
02 Kahuna Sunset
03 Buffalo Stomp (Raga)
04 Baby Don't Scold Me
05 For What It's Worth
06 Mr. Soul
07 We'll See
08 My Kind Of Love
09 Pretty Girl Why (Mix)
10 Words I Must Say (Demo)
11 Nobody's Fool (Demo)
12 So You've Got A Lover (Demo)
13 My Angel (Demo)
14 No Sun Today
15 Everydays
16 Down To The Wire
17 Bluebird
18 Expecting To Fly
19 Hung Upside Down (Demo)
20 A Child's Claim To Fame
21 Rock & Roll Woman

Buffalo Springfield Box Set (Disc 3) (61:37)

01 Hung Upside Down
02 Good Time Boy
03 One More Sign (Demo)
04 The Rent Is Always Due (Demo)
05 Round And Round And Round (Demo)
06 Old Laughing Lady (Demo)
07 Broken Arrow
08 Sad Memory
09 On The Way Home (Mix)
10 Whatever Happened To Saturday Night? (Remix)
11 Special Care
12 Falcon Lake (Ash On The Floor) (Remix)
13 What A Day
14 I Am A Child
15 Questions
16 Merry-Go-Round
17 Uno Mundo
18 Kind Woman
19 It's So Hard To Wait
20 Four Days Gone (Demo)

Buffalo Springfield Box Set (Disc 4) (70:45)

01 For What It's Worth
02 Go And Say Goodbye
03 Sit Down I Think I Love You
04 Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing
05 Hot Dusty Roads
06 Everybody's Wrong
07 Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
08 Burned
09 Do I Have To Come Right Out And Say It
10 Leave
11 Out Of My Mind
12 Pay The Price
13 Baby Don't Scold Me
14 Mr. Soul
15 Child's Claim To Fame
16 Everydays
17 Expecting To Fly
18 Bluebird
19 Hung Upside Down
20 Sad Memory
21 Good Time Boy
22 Rock & Roll Woman
23 Broken Arrow





Take it ! Hear it ! Love it !
Do not Be a Passer-By on My Topic ! but Interact & Leave a Comment!