« Wess & The Airedales - The Sou...
Earth Wind & Fire The Need Of ... »
DJ Okawari - Mirror

DJ Okawari - Mirror

Rap Rnb HipHop Gospel
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

1. Sound of Silence feat.KAORI
2. Luv Letter
3. You Gotta Be feat.AMADORI
4. Pack Light feat.ERIKO
5. Afterschool
6. Following the Dream
7. Free Bird feat.SIERRA
8. Sweet Light
9. All I Have feat.AMANDA DIVA
10. Minamo
11. Evening Comes 2

For those of you that scan google blog search religiously, or stay up on independent music in other ways, I know what you might be thinking: Great, another japanese producer with an album. This year I have heard albums from other Japanese producers, namely Cradle Orchestra and Prisma, that share a very relaxed aesthetic with DJ Okawari’s latest release through Libyus Music, Mirror. Perhaps I simply hadn’t noticed in previous years, when Japan seemed to essentially revolve around Fat Jon and Nujabes, but there hasn’t been such a deluge of restrained, delicate hip-hop in quite a long time, if ever. The only other touchstone I have for Japanese hip-hop production is DJ Honda, who for all intents and purposes appears to be an anomaly.

This rounded-edges, smooth aesthetic is made pretty clear on the two opening tracks, “Sound of Silence” and “Luv Letter”. The first features relaxing, breathy vocals from KAORI, and a jazzy piano that plays continuously over very, very light hip-hop drums. This blueprint is important to note early because it continues to dominate most of the tracks. For example, “Free Bird” and “All I Have” are essentially smooth jazz and contemporary R&B. Amanda Diva guests on the latter, and accompanied by a pretty slick (though reminiscent of Kenny G) saxophone appears game for making as exciting a song as possible.

However, her vocals are a little blurry, and many times come out hard to understand. Which would be disappointing if I hadn’t already been put through Okawari and Amadori’s cover of Des’ree’s American R&B hit “You Gotta Be”, a track where Amadori is given ample time to prove she wouldn’t have made it in the ’90s R&B market, or any decade for that matter. Her mumbly, breathy vocals (which could be part of Okawari’s blueprint for the album and partially out of her control) ruin all the fun of the track’s charm, and her vocals lack the sexual element Des’ree had measured so well. The album’s other key aesthetic belongs (surprisingly?) to Final Fantasy and other role-playing game soundtracks. The piano-driven, not-exactly-at-all-hip-hop “Minamo”, “Afterschool” and especially “Luv Letter” sound more like overworld themes or shopping mall muzak than foreground music or, more exactly, like it should be marketed as hip-hop. Scratches can be found on “Evening Comes 2″, the final track, and trip-hop informs the personality of “Following the Dream”, but many of the tracks have a lighter than air feeling that makes the album as a whole quite difficult to pay attention to, or appreciate in a hip-hop context – just like those Cradle Orchestra and Prisma records. The only time the whole thing really comes together into a complete package is on mid-album highlight “Sweet Light”, which blends many elements of smooth NPR-oriented jazz with the mid-level, bouncy 808 bass that fellow international producers J.R. & Ph7 wield so effectively.

The album code is : ODI192087

fossati | Boulvard ï¿Ãà | Dance Party 2009 vol.3 | Donny Osmond - Disco Train - 1976 | Arkangel - | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Motorhead - Titty Twister 1997 (Bootleg) [Lossless+Mp3] WARLOCK - True as Steel (1986) lossless + mp3 A Flock Of Seagulls - The Story Of A Young Heart 1984 (Reissue 2008) Kevin Campbell - Different Shades / Same Blue (2016) Big Star - Radio City (1973) [Remaster2009] [Lossless+Mp3] Uxor Mortis - Phantasia in Tenebris (2013) The Hitman Blues Band - The World Moves On (2016) Erykah Badu - But You Caint Use My Phone (2015) Richard Tee - Strokin' (2007) The Moons - Fables of History (2012) Maria Callas, Philharmonia Orchestra, Alceo Galliera - Rossini: Il barbiere di Sivigli (1957/2014) [HDTracks] Dave Sereny - Take This Ride Anne Murray - Anne Murray (1996) Stackridge - Stackridge (1971) Japan remaster (Mini-LP) (2001) Lossless Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 2" (1993) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Roby Duke "Not The Same" (1992) - CCM / Westcoast Rock- America "Highway - 30 Years Of" (2000) -Folk Pop / Soft Rock / Westcoast Rock- Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP Richard Tee - Natural Ingredients - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)