« Exploding Boy - New Generation...
Dot Dash - Spark>Flame>Ember>A... »
Two Helens - Reflections in Red (Sharko 2, 1986)

Two Helens - Reflections in Red (Sharko 2, 1986)

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Here's one of my more recent after-the-fact-finds.  Twenty-five years late better than never.  Scotland's Two Helens strike me as the kind of band that so many of my fellow bloggers would likely to typecast "darkwave."  More post-punk than all else if you ask me, demonstrably evidenced by "Heaven and Hell's" chilly, throbbing pulse, a la early Siouxsie (though it's a male singer here).  Things get even better mid-album thanks to the doubly more enticing "The Curve," sheering a layer or two of fuzz off The Jesus and Mary Chain's Pyschocandy to sublime effect, with "Write This Letter" inching not too far behind.  The first eight tracks comprise the Reflections in Red album proper, with the remainder apparently taken from a follow-up single.  The biographical blurb below was culled from the notes of a T/H YouTube clip.  My sincere thanks to whomever posted it.

The Band was initially formed by Ian Murray, who recruited Alan Whyte, Mark Dickson and Robert Greenaway. Extensive gigging throughout Scotland led to B.B.C. Radio Scotland play, which in turn led to a deal with local label, Sharko 2. Their debut album, "Reflections In Red" was released in 1986, followed by a single "Silver & Gold" in 1987. The band supported Flesh For Lulu on some Scottish dates. Played by John Peel on his show and also on BBC World Service, the band flourished. For a while things looked superb after charting at home and in Europe. After more exposure and press, the band were offered a Scandinavian tour. However, due to promotional difficulties the tour fell through... a month later, the band split. In 2003, Ian, Mark and Alan decided to reform the band, as a trio. Further experiments by the band as a trio turned out to prove a potent sound, as big as it ever was. RELEASES: "Reflections In Red" (vinyl album, Sharko 2, 1986) "Silver & Gold" (7 inch vinyl, Sharko 2, 1987).

01. Heaven and Hell
02. The Top of a Tall Tree
03. Reflections in Red
04. Cold and Blind
05. The Curve
06. All the Money
07. Spiritual Thing
08. Write This Letter
09. Silver and Gold
10. 15 Rhythm
11. Gun

The album code is : ODI191228

20 Years Of Joey Negro - Album Sampler | Deep Purple - Live at Montreux 2006 (2007) | El Canto de loco - Personas (Disco Completo) | Alexandra Sofron - Hai mandrut ie-ma la joc Album Original 2014 | Aggression - Fragmented Spirit Devils (2016) | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Robert Wyatt – Different Every Time 2CD (2014) (Lossless+mp3) John Greaves (with Robert Wyatt) - Songs 1995 Thunder And Lightning - The Ages Will Turn (2016) W.A.S.P. - Live at the Lyceum, London 1984 [VHSRip] Talking Heads - Live in Rome 1980 [TVRip] Stone Sour - Live In Brighton 2010 (2012) [DVDRip] XML error in File: http://www.israbox.life/rss.xml Rupert Holmes "Rainy Night In Georgia" (1980) -Soft Rock- Rupert Holmes "Adventure" (1980) -Westcoast Rock / Soft Rock Rupert Holmes "Rupert Holmes" (1975) -Soft Rock- Lindsey Webster "Back To Your Heart" (2016) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "You Change" (2015) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "Lindsey Webster" (2013) -Westcoast Jazz / Soft Rock- Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Anli Sugano - Just Groovin' - Complete LP A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)