Johnny Nicholas - 2 albums: Future Blues / Livin\' With The Blues MP3/Flac

Album: Future Blues
Size: 120,5 MB
Time: 52:36
File: MP3 @ 320K/s
Released: 2011
Styles: Texas Blues, Contemporary Blues
Label: The People's Label
Art: Front

01. Hey Hey (3:01)
02. Hell Bent (3:22)
03. Don't Say I Never Told You So (2:58)
04. Hard Time Livin' (4:58)
05. Roads On Fire (4:15)
06. Mister Moon (4:46)
07. Future Blues (5:09)
08. Graveyard Blues (4:39)
09. That's The Price (5:23)
10. (It's All Over Now) Baby Blue (5:04)
11. Pass Your Tender Lips (3:35)
12. Steadfast (5:20)

Though Texas bluesman Johnny Nicholas has played with the likes of Muddy Waters and Howlin Wolf, Eric Clapton and Bonnie Raitt – not to mention his former group Asleep At The Wheel – in recent years, you’d be more likely to find him at his roadhouse restaurant The Hill Top Café near Fredricksburg, TX. Nicholas, who Texas music legend Stephen Bruton called “one of the best bluesmen ever,” is set to release his first album in six years, ‘Future Blues,’ on June 13 via The People’s Label and tour with an all-star band this spring and summer.

Musicians on the album include Cindy Cashdollar (Van Morrison, Bob Dylan, Paul Butterfield), guitarist “Scrappy” Jud Newcomb (Ian McLagan, The Resentments), drummer John Chipman (Band of Heathens), accordion and keyboardist Joel Guzman (Joe Ely), and guest appearances by Sam Broussard and Jimmie Vaughan. ‘Future Blues’ was produced by Bruce Hughes (The Resentments, Texas Sheiks, Jason Mraz), who also plays bass on the record.

The tone of ‘Future Blues’ is set with lead-off track “Hey Hey,” a jaunty boogie-woogie with stellar harmonica work, Nicholas’ voice smoky and assertive. “Hard Time Livin’” and “Roads On Fire” are two slow-burning stand-outs supported by gritty guitar and Cashdollar’s slide flourishes that melt into the rhythm section, while Nicholas’ re-imagined version of Dylan’s “(It’s All Over Now) Baby Blue” is punctuated by a free-spirited, driving shuffle.

‘Future Blues’ reunites Nicholas, Hughes, and Cashdollar after their successful collaboration with Geoff Muldaur, Bruton and Jim Kweskin on the 2008 acoustic blues Texas Sheiks project.


Album: Livin' With The Blues
Size: 127,9 MB
Time: 55:30
File: MP3 @ 320K/s
Released: 2005
Styles: Modern Electric Blues, Contemporary Blues
Label: Topcat Records
Art: Full

01. Froggy Bottom (4:22)
02. Hill Top (2:55)
03. You Can't Be Lucky All The Time (5:10)
04. I'll Be Around (4:19)
05. Dirty People (5:31)
06. Teardrops On My Windowpane (4:59)
07. Livin' With The Blues (4:00)
08. Need Your Love So Bad (5:01)
09. Honeydrippin' Baby (3:49)
10. Texas Drifter (4:33)
11. I'm From Texas (5:27)
12. Down In The Alley (5:19)

Livin' With The Blues showcases Johnny Nicholas' instrumental virtuosity, songwriting acumen (featuring 7 original tunes) and his heartfelt love of the musical and cultural diverstiy of Texas. This outstanding CD pays loving, deeply respectful homage to those seminal blues masters and friends who were his greatest influences and is a testament to the fact that Johnny is back in force.

Livin' With The Blues, Johnny's 3rd CD release on TopCat Records (his first two widely acclaimed releases - Rockin' My Blues To Sleep and Thrill On The Hill), features a Who's-Who of top Texas music stars - Marcia Ball, Greg Piccolo, Ray Benson, Cindy Cashdollar, Stephen Bruton, Mark "Kaz" Kazinof, Red Young, Joel Guzman, Barry "Frosty" Smith, Ernie Durawa, Riley Osbourne, Terry Hale, Al Gomez, John Mills, Jack Barber and special guest Kinky Friedman.

In 1980, after twenty years of the blues scenes of Providence, Detroit-Ann Arbor, Chicago, the Bay Area, the Cajun country of Louisiana and Texas, performing with Duke Robillard, Steve Nordella, Big Walter Horton, Asleep At The Wheel and Johnny Shine (Nicholas played on and produced the late Johnny Shine's last album with Snooky Pryor).

Johnny Nicholas is without a doubt "The Real Deal" and every fan of Johnny will be thrilled to add this exceptional CD to their collection. Livin' With The Blues is sure to receive stellar reviews and will certainly be one of the top CD releases of 2005.