« Da Grassroots - Passage Throug...
Norman Feels - Where Or When (... »
Monk Higgins - Little Mama (Soul/Jazz)

Monk Higgins - Little Mama (Soul/Jazz)

Rap Rnb HipHop Gospel
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

1. Little Mama
2. Walking In My Sleep
3. Trusting You (La, La, La Song)
4. So Far Away
5. Can't Stop
6. Black Fox
7. If
8. Heaven Only Knows
9. God's In The Blessing Business
10. Highway Number 101 (Pacific Coast Highway)

The Arkansas Saxophonist Monk Higgins (real name Milton Bland) made two hugely sought after jazz/funk/soul albums for United Artists in 1972. The first was "Heavy Weight" - and then came this - "Little Mama".

Produced by LARRY MAXWELL, the "Little Mama" LP was originally released on Liberty/United Artists UA-LA005-F in the USA in late 1972 - this 2004 remaster is a straightforward reissue of that funky rarity and is part of EMI Europe's "Masters Of Funk & Soul" Remaster Series.

The MUSICIANS for "Little Mama" were:
MONK HIGGINS - Tenor Saxophone & Organ
JOE SAMPLE [of The Crusaders] - Piano, Clavinet & Harpsichord
WILTON FELDER [of The Crusaders} - Bass
FREDDY ROBINSON - Guitar & Harmonica
PAUL HUMPHREY - Drums & Percussion

The gatefold inlay has knowledgeable liner notes by noted "Chicago Soul" writer ROBERT PRUTER, but the big news is the SOUND. 24-bit remastered (34:50 minutes), the sound quality is exceptional - fantastically clear, muscular - funky -as-f**k basically.

The covers of Carole King's "Tapestry" classic "So Far Away" and the huge Bread/David Gates' hit "If" both benefit from the girly vocals of Specialties Unlimited - in fact they're on 9 of the 10 tracks. The cover of Freddy Robinson's "Black Fox" is slinky (the only song without vocals), but my favourite is the wonderfully catchy "Can't Stop" (lyrics above). It has the best guitar/bass intro, which then slides into organ and sax, then in come the sassy girls with "...can't stop...can't stop..." Really great stuff.

The album code is : ODI189426

ÃƒÆ’Ã†â€™Ãƒâ€šÃ…Â½ÃƒÆ’Ã¢â‚¬Â¦Ãƒâ€šÃ¢â‚¬Å“ÃƒÆ | Simone White - I Am The Man (2007) | Hitchhickers | vol47 | Earwig à | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack China - In The Middle Of The Night (1989) Rainbow - Can't Let You Go (1983) Survivor - The Search Is Over (1984) Blackmore's Night - Dancer and the Moon (2013) W.A.S.P. - Hold On To My Heart (1992) Yngwie Malmsteen - Carry On A Wayward Son (VIDEO) 1996 Cody Cooke and the Bayou Outlaws - Son of the South (2013) Terrence Brewer – The TB 3 - Setting the Standard, Vol. 4 (2016) VA - Chilling with Me (2015) Pink Floyd - Works (1983/1987) VA - Dubai Lounge (2015) Derrick Procell - Why I Choose To Sing The Blues (2016) Phil Woods & The Bill Charlap Trio - Voyage (2001) VA - Almost Weekend XIII (2015) Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)