« Lynsey De Paul - Lynsey De Pau...
VA - Wow That Was The 70s (8CD... »
Lynsey de Paul - Surprise (1973)

Lynsey de Paul - Surprise (1973)

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Lynsey de Paul - Surprise (1973)

Lynsey de Paul – Surprise (1973)

01 - Mama Doc
02 - Ivory Tower
03 - Doctor Doctor
04 - Crossword Puzzle
05 - Water
06 - Sleeping Blue Nights
07 - The Way It Goes
08 - Rockerdile
09 - Sugar Me
10 - Just Visiting

MAM/Decca Records (LP) SS-504

Review by Bobsi
After the amazing international success of her first single "Sugar Me" and follow up "Getting A Drag" Lynsey released Surprise as her first album and what a sur-prise it was too! As well as a different version of "Sugar Me", the album features stand out tracks "Ivory Tower" and "The Way It Goes", as well as Lynsey's version of "Crossword Puzzle" which was previously recorded by Irish singer Dana. The musicians involved in making this album are a veritable who's who of British mu-sic of the period. Nevertheless, as well as writing the songs and performing them, Lynsey's keyboard skills as well as arrangement and production duties are evident and she even found time to design the gate fold album cover.

Biography by Craig Harris
One of the first successful female singer/songwriters in England, Lynsey de Paul (born Lynsey Monckton Rubin on 11 Jun 1950 in London, England) has had an illustrious career. Reaching her peak as a vocalist during the 1970s, she scored with such disco hits as "Sugar Me," which reached the number five slot on the British pop charts; "Won't Somebody Dance with Me," which received an Ivor Novella award as for Best Ballad of 1974; and "Rock Bottom," recorded with Brit-ish vocalist Mike Moran. Between 1972-1977, she wrote 14 British Top 40 hits. Her songs have been covered by Nancy Sinatra, Cheryl Lynn, Heatwave, Bruce Johnston, Vera Lynn, and Shirley Bassey among others. In addition to serving as the themes of nine prime time British television series, de Paul's songs have been featured in such films as The Big Sleep, Side by Side, and Aces Go Places.

Inspired by her ex-boyfriend, James Coburn, de Paul changed her focus to act-ing in the 1980s. She appeared in the British version of the American musical Pump Boys and Dinettes and in the films The Starlight Ballroom and Gabrielle and the Doodleman. Increasingly active as a producer, de Paul produced three travelogues from the Caribbean for Granada Sky Broadcasting. De Paul hosted television shows such as Club Vegetarian, Shopper's Heaven, Eat Drink & Be Healthy, Women of Substance, The Vinyl Frontier, and 15 episodes of Living Room Legends, which featured home videos. She received a Royal Television Society award for her BBC1 documentary on self-defense for women, Eve Strikes Back. Known for her sharp sense of humor, de Paul was called "Looney de Small" by British humorist Spike Mulligan.

The album is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here

The album code is : ODI189152

Mihail Botofei | Hot Parade Summer 2011 | carlos alberto rodrÃÆâ€â | soulful house | MAMA CASS - DREAM A LITTLE DREAM (ABC-DUNHILL 1968) Jap mastering cardboard sleeve 2 bon | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Corbu - Crayon Soul (2016) Jain - Zanaka (Deluxe Edition) (2016) Siddhartha - Weltschmerz 1975 (Lossless) (1994) Essaie Pas - Demain Est Une Autre Nuit (2016) Cyborgdrive - Majestic Land (2016) The Violent Youth - Discotheque (2016) VA - Black Hole Recordings Best Of 2016 (2016) Kraftwerk - The Model / Showroom Dummies (1996) Angelica - Walkin' In Faith (1990) [1992, Japan] Wilco - Being There (1996/2013) [HDtracks] Eric Serra - Le Grand Bleu Version Integrale (1988) Mp3 + Lossless Keith Hudson - Pick A Dub (Deluxe Edition) (2016) Danielle Dax - Dark Adapted Eye (2008) Stan Getz / Charlie Byrd - Jazz Samba (1962) [2014 HDtracks] Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 2" (1993) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Roby Duke "Not The Same" (1992) - CCM / Westcoast Rock- America "Highway - 30 Years Of" (2000) -Folk Pop / Soft Rock / Westcoast Rock- The Cornelius Bumpus Quartet ‎"Beacon" (1983) -Contemporary Jazz- Boy Meets Girl ‎"Boy Meets Girl" (1985) - Westcoast Rock- Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP Richard Tee - Natural Ingredients - Complete LP Michael Jackson - One Day In Your Life - Complete LP Teena Marie - Emerald City - Complete LP