« Sonia Papp – Undercover Love...
Doctor Who Theme »
Karel Fialka - Still Life (1980)

Karel Fialka - Still Life (1980)

Italo Disco HiNrg
• Year : 0
On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Here's an album I've been looking for over a number of years. Finally, this is my own rip so others can enjoy it too.

Still Life was Karel Fialka's debut album, released on the Blueprint label (a Pye subsidiary) in 1980. It included the hit single "The Eyes Have It" as well as another single "Armband" and a cover of The Doors' "People Are Strange".

Karel has hardly been prolific in his career, just releasing two other projects Human Animal in 1987 and Film Noir in 2009. His style is fairly unique, combining a pop sensibility, a willingness to experiment, and a sense of drama. Over the course of an album his vocal style grates a little - he tends to sing-shout and has a slight accent - but every track is different and succinct. It's easy to forget that this was pretty cutting edge new wave at the time he recorded it.

You have to admire the cover artwork (presumably an allusion to the track "File In Forget") and the cutaway diagram is of a Sten Machine gun if you cared to know.

"The Eyes Have It" would also be later re-recorded. This album has never been released on CD however.

1. The Eyes Have It

2. People Are Strange

3. File In Forget

4. The Cost

5. Rough and Ready

6. Armband

7. Still Life

8. The Good The Bad and The Ugly

9. Exude When I'm Bruised

10. Appointment In Samarra

(Ads... Please contact to us)

The album code is : ODI188878

Nicolas Merritt - Punk Rock Elementary (2010) | James Taylor Quartet - Creation (1997) | LOST SOUL OLDIES VOL.1 ���� 15 | Buddy Miller - Majestic Silver Strings (2011) | munro |