VA - American Roots Music (2001) 2xDVD9 MP3/Flac

VA - American Roots Music (2001) 2xDVD9
2xDVD9 | 240 Min | NTSC 720x480 | 29.97 fps | MPEG-2@9800 kbps | AC3@192 kbps | 6.78 GB

+ 6.66 GB Genre: Blues, Folk, Country, Gospel, Music Video | Label: Palm Pictures

VA - American Roots Music (2001) 2xDVD9
VA - American Roots Music (2001) 2xDVD9
VA - American Roots Music (2001) 2xDVD9

Casting its documentary net even wider than Ken Burns's Jazz series, American Roots sets its

sights on more of the nation's quintessential styles and musical pioneers - affording context and

continuity for viewers turned on by the O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack. In this four-hour,

soul-stirring gumbo, just about every root gets its due, including bluegrass (Ralph Stanley, Bill

Monroe); blues (B. B. King, Charley Patton, Howlin' Wolf, Muddy Waters, Robert Johnson);

country (Jimmie Rodgers, the Carter Family, Hank Williams); gospel (Mahalia Jackson, Thomas A.

Dorsey); folk (Leadbelly, Woody Guthrie, Mississippi John Hurt); Cajun and zydeco (Clifton

Chenier); Tejano (Valerio Longoria, accordion master Flaco Jimenez); and Native American (Floyd

"Red Crow" Westerman).

Celebrating these musicians and their contributions are current artists such as Bonnie Raitt, Robbie

Robertson, and Ricky Skaggs (who also plays the neo-traditional series theme song). At times, the

project threatens to buckle under the weight of its task. But producer-director Jim Brown -- whose

previous work includes the passionate The Weavers: Wasn't That a Time! -- and coproducer-editor

Sam Pollard are deft masters of subtle excavation. American Roots benefits from the duo's

command of history and resources, and their willingness to connect the past (as Greil Marcus wrote

of Harry Smith, "the old, weird America") to current artists participating in the roots revival


To cure the excerpt fever that often befalls epic documentaries, the two-disc DVD version of the

series also allows the viewer to eye some half dozen performances in their entirety. This, in the end,

helps American Roots to pack the force of a revelation.

Episode 1: When First Unto This Country
1. Fisk Jubilee Singers [10:58]
2. Recorded Music [7:50]
3. The Bristol Sessions [8:44]
4. Delta Blues [9:37]
5. The Grand Ole Opry [8:31]
6. Gospel Is Born [7:14]

Episode 2: This Land Was Made for You and Me
1. Country & Western Swing [9:14]
2. Lead Belly & Lomax [4:13]
3. Woody Guthrie [5:28]
4. Bluegrass [9:54]
5. Honky Tonk [9:35]
6. The Blues & Radio [15:06]

Episode 3: The Times They are A-Changin'
1. Chicago Blues [6:19]
2. B.B. King [5:41]
3. Golden Age of Gospel [12:13]
4. The Weavers [8:42]
5. The Folk Revival [7:08]
6. Newport Folk Festival [12:50]

Episode 4: All My Children of the Sun
1. Cajun [12:23]
2. Zydeco [6:23]
3. Tejano [10:17]
4. Native American [5:46]
5. Nakai & Mirabal [6:20]
6. Evolution of Roots [9:28]

- Direct Scene Access
- Interactive Menu

- Timeline Of American Roots Music
- Full Length Performances From Bob Wills, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Earl Scruggs, Doc Watson And