The American Folk-Blues Festival - Volume Two (1962-66) MP3/Flac

The American Folk-Blues Festival - Volume Two (1962-66)
blues | DVD Video | DVD5 | ISO, covers, booklet | 70 min | 3850MB
MPEG-2 Video, PAL 4:3 (720:546) 25.00fps 5690kbps | LPCM mono, 1536kbps | rel: 2003

The American Folk-Blues Festival - Volume Two (1962-66)

The American Folk-Blues Festival - Volume Two (1962-66)

Three songs by Howlin' Wolf are the highlight of this second set of blues performances recorded in

the 1960s, when an extraordinary lineup of musicians (among the 18 tracks here are tunes by

Lightnin' Hopkins, Willie Dixon, Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee, and Big Mama Thornton)

toured Europe, thrilling (among many others) the young Englishmen playing in bands like the Rolling

Stones and the Yardbirds. As with Volume 1, the monaural sound and black-and-white video are

superb, making the release of the footage four decades later even more welcome. And Wolf? He was

still in his prime in '64, perhaps equaled only by Muddy Waters (who appears on the first volume).

"Did you ever been in the groove?" he asks at one point. "Well, I'm gonna put you way down in the

woods." That he does, and blues fans will be only too happy to tag along.

1 Bye Bye Bird (Sonny Boy Williamson),
2 My Younger Days (Sonny Boy Williamson),
3 Come On Home Baby (Sunnyland Slim),
4 Nervous (Willie Dixon),
5 Mojo Hand (Lightnin' Hopkins),
6 Black Snake Blues (Victoria Spivey),
7 Everyday I Have the Blues (Memphis Slim),
8 Don't Throw Your Love on Me so Strong (T-Bone Walker),
9 Tall Heavy Mama (Roosevelt Sykes),
10 Sittin' and Cryin' the Blues (Willie Dixon),
11 Murphy's Boogie (Matt "Guitar" Murphy),
12 Stranger Blues (Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee),
13 Shake for Me (Howlin' Wolf),
14 I'll Be Back Someday (Howlin' Wolf),
15 Love Me Darlin (Howlin' Wolf),
16 Down Home Shakedown (Big Mama Thornton)
Two bonus tracks from Magic Sam in 1969:
b1 All Your Love
b2 Magic Sam's Boogie
~70 mins

password: dada