« Hipnosis - Hipnosis LP 1984
various - Chess Psychedelic Ja... »
Melvin Bliss – Reward / Synthetic Substitution  1973 (Sunburst)

Melvin Bliss – Reward / Synthetic Substitution 1973 (Sunburst)

Blues , Love, Latino
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Label : Sunburst Records

Value :

Wax Poetics magazine reported yesterday that Melvin Bliss is dead. Bliss is best known by Rap listeners for his 1973 song "Synthetic Substitution." The song was famously sampled by Ultramagnetic MC's on their hit "Ego Trippin'," as well as hits such as "Pee Wee's Dance" by Joeski Love, "Don't Believe The Hype" by Public Enemy, and by De La Soul's "Potholes In My Lawn."

"Sythetic Substiution," a song sung by Bliss, written and produced by Herb Rooney, featured percussion from iconic drummer Bernard Purdie. Bliss' vocals, dealing with an age lacking organic and natural elements, proved ahead of its time, as the original seven-inch record remained a staple during Hip Hop's earliest years.

Throughout his extensive career, Bliss, who was believed to be 75 years old at the time of his death, performed at New York's Rainbow Room, Plaza Hotel and other venues. The Chicago native was living in New York at the time of his death. He was last interviewed by Wax Poetics for their Issue #42.

Additionally, a documentary on Melvin Bliss' life, Synthetic Substitution, was in production by Earl Holder and Peripheral Enterprises, and filmed in 2010.

Watch and learn as director Earl Holder and Peripheral Enterprises present a documentary about Melvin Bliss and his famous recording, Synthetic Substitution. As one of the most sampled drum breaks ever, Synthetic Substitution featured drumming by none other than the master Bernard Purdie.

Melvin Bliss – Synthetic Substitution (Documentary)

Taste :

Melvin Bliss - Synthetic Substitution

Download 45

By Electric Looser

The album code is : ODI188176

ayana | Taffy - | Annie Lennox | Sister | Quardo | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Osanna – Pape Satan Aleppe (2016) The Lew Thomas Band - Walks, Talks & Fallouts (2016) Wild Cherry - Wild Cherry (1976) Wild Cherry - Electrified Funk (1977) Locomotive Man - The Coming Storm (2015) Wild Cherry - I Love My Music (1978) VA - Elicuts Vol. 1 (2016) Future Beat Alliance - Hidden Emotion (2016) VA - Secret Map v.I (2016) Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green - Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green (2CD) (2008) Kay Webb Orchestra - Gitarrentraume In Gold (1979) Jack Fred with Band - Mood Music / Saxophon (2003) Golden Nightingale Orchestra - Golden Accordeon Melodies (1988) Achillea - The Nine Worlds (2005) MP3 + Lossless Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)