« Antorcha (1970-76)
Tamara - MAS - Tributo A Marco... »
Las Antorchas (1966-68)

Las Antorchas (1966-68)

• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

I've picked up the latest proposal from the comments section and continue with new posts. The older files will be restored from time to time (there are still more than 200 left).

Las Antorchas were formed by five college students and originated out of Mexico City. They released only one E.P. on Orfeon but had enough material for a longplayer. They split around 68/69 but after a line-up change they continued simply named as Antorcha. Under that moniker they recorded five singles and an album, released 1976. VAM Records collects all their known material as Las Antorchas on one CD (VAM/Orfeon Video Vox CMS-205« / 2006). The organ is sometimes horribly off-key and the vocals don't make a big impression. The worst track is their cover of "Hello, Goodbye" (Hola Adios), one of the few Fab Four songs I rather dislike. However they have a few good cover versions and strangely enough this collection works as a whole. Not to forget the excellent "Dime", a really great acid-punk track but not representative for their sound. Conclusion: they were not as good as Los Ovnis/Apocalipsis etc. but better than Tijuana Five or Los Belmonts (if that helps in any way). The CD comes with liners and VAM also released their subsequent material as Antorcha, but more about them in my next post.

- La Antorcha
- Opus 14 Interior 12
- Tu Me Ense?aste
- Dime
- Tu Me Ense?aste (instrumental)
- Shake
- Un Poquito M?s
- Confesion
- No Espero Ya Por Ti
- Substitute
- Anoche Fue
- Nunca Te Amado Mas
- No Lo Hagas
- Sabia
- Hola Adios
- El Soldado
- Canta Conmigo
- Dime (instrumental)

Jorge Gonzalez (lead gtr, vcls)
Fernando Mercado (gtr, vcls)
Omar Cortes Gavi?o (bs, vcls)
Victor Manuel Motta Aviles (keyb'ds, rhythm gtr, vcls)
Bernardo Minerva (drms, lead vcls)

Band origin:
Mexico City (Mexico)

1. Un Poquito M?s/No Lo Hagas/Anoche Fue/Shake
   (Orfeon EP-734) 1967

Get it here (Artwork included)

Listen to Dime

The album code is : ODI180382

V.A. - Bass | ABBA - The Visitors (1981) | Dance Party Hits vol.37 2011 | The D/wp-content/themes/thedawn/lib/scripts/wp-content/plugins/wp-ecommerce-shop-styling/i | David T. Walker | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack China - In The Middle Of The Night (1989) Rainbow - Can't Let You Go (1983) Survivor - The Search Is Over (1984) Blackmore's Night - Dancer and the Moon (2013) W.A.S.P. - Hold On To My Heart (1992) Yngwie Malmsteen - Carry On A Wayward Son (VIDEO) 1996 Cody Cooke and the Bayou Outlaws - Son of the South (2013) Terrence Brewer – The TB 3 - Setting the Standard, Vol. 4 (2016) VA - Chilling with Me (2015) Pink Floyd - Works (1983/1987) VA - Dubai Lounge (2015) Derrick Procell - Why I Choose To Sing The Blues (2016) Phil Woods & The Bill Charlap Trio - Voyage (2001) VA - Almost Weekend XIII (2015) Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)