« Bridge Climbers - Full Bag Don...
The Mommyheads - Flying Suit (... »
Wobble Test - trixinickybambibo tape (1990)

Wobble Test - trixinickybambibo tape (1990)

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

This turned out to be one of my best $1 Ebay finds in quite some time.  Regarded by some to be one of the finest bands to come out of Milwaukee, WI, discography apparently consisted of merely this cassette and a compilation appearance.  V-Fib Recordings website summarizes up their career better than I ever could:

Three teenagers from New Hampshire meet a boy from Milwaukee and decide to take their high school diplomas to the middle of nowhere to create rock 'n' roll in an absolute vacuum. Sound like a recipe for disaster? Yeah, well, kinda. . . but the tunes, man! Milwaukee's Wobble Test were a full throttle mix of Big Star, Jane's Addiction and The Knack. It's what's parked at the intersection of pop genius, depression, acid, amateur enthusiasm and beer. What The Replacements might have sounded like if they really partied.

The band consisted of Mike DeVogel (v, g), Tim Buckley (v,g), John Daniels (b), and Stevo (d). "Rewind" was the first tune off a brilliant 1989 cassette-only release called Trixybimbosomething (the combined names of Wobble Test's childhood dogs). The fellas in this band went on to play in other favorites Maki, Soda, Bi-centenial Drug Lord and Koester.They're kinda V-fib's "Patient X". The disease started here.

In addition to some of the aforementioned comparisons, I'm picking up trace elements of Pure Joy, The Senseless Things, and Soul Asylum (not as if this Brew City quartet had actually been familiarized with those first two).  My only hesitation in sharing trixinickybambibo is that the audio quality of the last two tracks gracing side one (esp "Bells") ironically hold true to the band's moniker, sounding unnaturally wobbly and warbly, most likely the byproduct of an aging cassette.   blog posted a nice write up on the band a few years ago, discussing among other things unreleased Wobble Test recordings (though all audio links are presently broken).

After W/T called it a day, Tim Buckley and John Daniels would later move onto the

01. For Reasons I Have 9
02. Rewind
03. Daze
04. Bells
05. The Charm & the Strange
06. Verse Me
07. That One/Standing Fair


The album code is : ODI179068

Dioni Martin ( Ã ¡amela) - Sencillamente 2010 | Ven-Uto / Noe Willer - Midnight Girl (Vinyl | John Carpenter's - The End (Vinyl12'' ) 1983 | VA - Le 500 Canzoni Piu Belle di Sempre ('60 '70 '80) CD01 (2013) | Soulmagic - | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Corbu - Crayon Soul (2016) Jain - Zanaka (Deluxe Edition) (2016) Siddhartha - Weltschmerz 1975 (Lossless) (1994) Essaie Pas - Demain Est Une Autre Nuit (2016) Cyborgdrive - Majestic Land (2016) The Violent Youth - Discotheque (2016) VA - Black Hole Recordings Best Of 2016 (2016) Kraftwerk - The Model / Showroom Dummies (1996) Angelica - Walkin' In Faith (1990) [1992, Japan] Wilco - Being There (1996/2013) [HDtracks] Eric Serra - Le Grand Bleu Version Integrale (1988) Mp3 + Lossless Keith Hudson - Pick A Dub (Deluxe Edition) (2016) Danielle Dax - Dark Adapted Eye (2008) Stan Getz / Charlie Byrd - Jazz Samba (1962) [2014 HDtracks] Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 2" (1993) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Roby Duke "Not The Same" (1992) - CCM / Westcoast Rock- America "Highway - 30 Years Of" (2000) -Folk Pop / Soft Rock / Westcoast Rock- The Cornelius Bumpus Quartet ‎"Beacon" (1983) -Contemporary Jazz- Boy Meets Girl ‎"Boy Meets Girl" (1985) - Westcoast Rock- Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP Richard Tee - Natural Ingredients - Complete LP Michael Jackson - One Day In Your Life - Complete LP Teena Marie - Emerald City - Complete LP