« Beat Sketches Vol. 1
Spring - Be My Star »
Various - Black Brittle Frisbee (1987, Hit City)

Various - Black Brittle Frisbee (1987, Hit City)

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Taken straight from the liner notes of the album insert:

Brittle Black Frisbee is in every sense of the word a compilation.  Without exception, every member of the seven bands on this record has had a say in what the project has become.  The scene in Indianapolis is that way though.  Venues for non-top 40 bands are virtually non-existent, but the quantity and quality of bands thrive. 

Well , I'm not sure about the quality quotient, at least in regards to consistency.  Indeed, however, this is an accurate snapshot of the late '80s Indianapolis indie/punk circuit.  BBF was curated in large part by Paul Mahern of and Datura Seeds renown.  The most obvious bait offered on this collection are three tunes from the low-brow as-all-get-out , who would solider on for two more decades as one of the longest running jokes in punk rock.  Pointless is what I say.  As for myself, the real draw here was the otherwise unavailable Datura Seeds nugget of gold  "Eatin' You."  I've featured the Mahern-helmed Seeds on here before, and can best describe them as a sassier and more vigorous spin on Let's Active.  Their Who Do You Want it to Be long-player is a must listen.  Furthermore, if I'm not mistaken, the version of "S&P '69" on here differs from the Toxic Shock .

Technically from Bloomington, Indiana, you might ascribe
Right to Left as the only 'straightforward' pop act on Black Brittle Frisbee, declaring their presence here with measured tempos and insightful songwriting, loosely resembling a quieter REM, or the Posies circa their Failure album.

That about wraps up side two of the album.  Going backwards, the first side is quite a mess, predominately occupied by three rather amateurish, albeit artsy hopefuls - Jot, Modern Vending and Bramble Grit, with the first one of that lot striking me as cheap imitation of the then burgeoning Red Hot Chili Peppers.  moniker holds more currency than their finished product, and Bramble Grit at their best (say "Alibi in the Nude") would have been a near miss for Homestead Record's roster contemporary to this album.

01. Dusty's Diner
02. Going Bowling

Modern Vending
03. Cicada Baby
04. Hook's Brand Jesus
05. Weigle Moves to Dayton

Bramble Grit
06. Velvet Lipps
07. Alibi in the Nude
08. Hoosier A-Go-Go

Datura Seeds
09. Eatin' You
10. S&P '69

Sloppy Seconds
11. Germany
12. The Men
13. I Don't Want to Take You Home

Right to Left
14. When Company Comes
15. Change the World Around

Mikes House
16. Townshend Nose
17. I'm So Proud
18. Indiana


The album code is : ODI175089

VA - Steve | bob dylan other side mirror | 24 Karat - | Animal Heat - Money Words (Vinyl 12 | Hot Rize - When I | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack China - In The Middle Of The Night (1989) Rainbow - Can't Let You Go (1983) Survivor - The Search Is Over (1984) Blackmore's Night - Dancer and the Moon (2013) W.A.S.P. - Hold On To My Heart (1992) Yngwie Malmsteen - Carry On A Wayward Son (VIDEO) 1996 Cody Cooke and the Bayou Outlaws - Son of the South (2013) Terrence Brewer – The TB 3 - Setting the Standard, Vol. 4 (2016) VA - Chilling with Me (2015) Pink Floyd - Works (1983/1987) VA - Dubai Lounge (2015) Derrick Procell - Why I Choose To Sing The Blues (2016) Phil Woods & The Bill Charlap Trio - Voyage (2001) VA - Almost Weekend XIII (2015) Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)