« Anita Baker
Larry Dixon - I'am So In Love ... »
Chapter 8

Chapter 8

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Collection of Chapter 8

This Detroit group is best known as the band that helped launch Anita Baker's career. The original group was founded by Michael Powell and David Washington in 1972. They backed the Detroit Emeralds until Powell and Washington added vocalist Rick Means and Carolyn Crawford. Crawford was later replaced by Barbara Love. When Love departed, Washington added Baker, whom he had heard singing background with the Osmoses, another local group. Means had left by the time Chapter 8 signed with Ariola in 1979. Baker and Gerald Lyles split lead vocals, with Powell, Derek Dickson, Allen E. Nance, Courtien Hale, Scott Guthrie, Van Cephus, and Washington completing the lineup. Their debut LP, Chapter 8, was released in 1979, but Ariola promptly dropped them. Baker moved on to solo fame. By their second LP in 1985 for Beverly Glenn, Valerie Pinkson was alternating on lead vocals with Lyles, while keyboardist Vernon Falls joined veterans Hale, Washington, and Powell. This Love's for Real didn't garner any hits, but was a solid soul and funk outing. The lineup remained intact for their third release, Forever, in 1988 for Capitol. Powell produced it, but it also didn't sell and Capitol also dropped them. Powell has emerged as a successful producer, scoring hits on songs produced for Baker and Regina Belle. Various Chapter 8 musicians have also recorded with Baker, Peabo Bryson, David Peaston, and James Ingram. Allmusic by Ron Wynn

Album: Chapter 8 (1979)


01. Don't You Like It
02. Ready For Your Love
03. Come On Dance With Me
04. We Need Your Love
05. I Go Disco
06. I Just Wanna Be Your Girl
07. Come And Boogie
08. Let's Get Together


Album: This Love's For Real (1985)


01. Don't Stop Loving Me
02. How Is It Possible
03. This Love's For Real
04. Love Loving You
05. How Can I Get Next To You
06. Tell Me
07. It's My Turn
08. Don't You Think It's Time
09. Ready For Your Love (Bonus Track)


Album: Forever (1988)


01. Stronger Love
02. Give Me A Chance
03. So In Love
04. Understanding
05. I Can't Wait
06. One And Only
07. Real Love
08. Forever
09. The Last Time
10. Long Time To Love



The album code is : ODI174044