« The Dramatics
Chic »
The Brothers Johnson

The Brothers Johnson

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Collection of The Brothers Johnson

Guitarist/vocalist George Johnson and bassist/vocalist Louis Johnson formed the band Johnson Three Plus One with older brother Tommy and their cousin Alex Weir while attending school in Los Angeles. When they became professionals, the band backed such touring R&B acts as Bobby Womack and the Supremes. George and Louis Johnson later joined Billy Preston's band, and wrote "Music in My Life" and "The Kids and Me" for him before leaving his group in 1973.

Quincy Jones hired them to play on his LP Mellow Madness, and recorded four of their songs, including "Is It Love That We're Missing?" and "Just a Taste of Me." Jones took them on a Japanese tour, then produced their debut LP, Look Out for Number 1, after they signed with A&M, which was also his label at the time (1976). They scored a number-one R&B and number-three pop hit with "I'll Be Good to You," and enjoyed R&B chart toppers in 1977 and 1980 respectively with "Strawberry Letter 23" and "Stomp!," while sustaining a consistent hit presence via such songs as "Get the Funk Out Ma Face" and "Runnin' for Your Lovin." Jones remade "I'll Be Good to You" in 1989 with Ray Charles and Chaka Khan on his Back on the Block release.

The Brothers earned platinum records for Look Out for Number 1 and Right on Time. Jones produced both of these, along with their third and fourth LPs, Blam and Light Up the Night. The group produced its single "The Real Thing" in 1981. It reached number 11 on the R&B charts, and the Brothers had another hit with "Welcome to the Club" in 1982. They started doing separate ventures; Louis Johnson played bass on Michael Jackson's Thriller LP and recorded a gospel album, while George Johnson worked with Steve Arrington. Leon Sylvers produced their mid-'80s return LP Out of Control; it didn't equal their past success, but got them another R&B hit with "You Keep Coming Back" in 1984. They recorded Kickin' in 1988, and co-wrote "Tomorrow" with Siedah Garrett for Jones' Back on the Block in 1989.

Album: Look Out For #1 (1976)


01. I'll Be Good To You
02. Thunder Thumbs And Lightnin' Licks
03. Get The Funk Out Ma Face
04. Tomorrow
05. Free And Single
06. Come Together
07. Land Of Ladies
08. Dancin' And Prancin'
09. The Devil


Album: Right On Time (1977)


01. Runnin' for Your Lovin'
02. Free Yourself, Be Yourself
03. 'Q'
04. Right on Time
05. Strawberry Letter 23
06. Brother Man
07. Never Leave You Lonely
08. Love Is


Album: Blam! (1978)


01. Ain't We Funkin' Now
02. So Won't You Stay
03. Blam !!
04. Rocket Countdown - Blastoff
05. Ride-O-Rocket
06. Mista' Cool
07. It's You Girl
08. Streetwave


Album: Light Up The Night (1980)


01. Stomp
02. Light Up The Night
03. You Make Me Wanna Wiggle
04. Treasure
05. This Had To Be
06. All About The Heaven
07. Smilin' On Ya
08. Closer To The One That You Love
09. Celebrations


Album: Winners (1981)


01. The Real Thing
02. Dancin' Free
03. Sunlight
04. Teaser
05. Caught Up
06. In The Way
07. I Want You
08. Do It For Love
09. Hot Mama
10. Daydreamer Dream


Album: Blast! (1983)


01. Funk It (Funkadelala)
02. Welcome To The Club
03. The Great Awaking
04. I'm Giving You All of My Love
05. The Real Thing
06. Ain't We Funkin Now
07. Strawberry Letter 23
08. Stomp
09. Get The Funk Out Of Ma Face
10. I'll Be Good To You


Album: Out Of Control (1984)


01. You Keep Coming Back
02. Lovers Forever
03. Do You
04. Let's Try Love Again
05. I Came Here To Party
06. Out Of Control
07. Save Me
08. Tokyo
09. Dazed
10. It's All Over Now


Album: Classics (Volume 11 (1987)


01. Ain't We Funkin' Now
02. Strawberry Letter #23
03. Free and Single
04. Stomp
05. Runnin' For Your Lovin'
06. "Q"
07. Land Of Ladies
08. Get The Funk Out Ma Face
09. I'll Be Good To You
10. Light Up The Night
11. You Keep Me Coming Back
12. The Real Thing
13. Tokyo
14. Ride-O-Rocket
15. Funk It (Funkadelala)


Album: The Very Best Of (2003)


01. Is It Love That We're Missin'
02. I'll Be Good To You
03. Thunder Thumbs And Lightnin' Licks
04. Get The Funk Out Ma Face
05. Free And Single
06. Tomorrow
07. Strawberry Letter 23
08. Runnin' For Your Lovin'
09. Q
10. Ain't We Funkin' Now
11. Ride-O-Rocket
12. Mista' Cool
13. Stomp!
14. Light Up The Night
15. Treasure
16. In The Way
17. The Real Thing
18. Welcome To The Club
19. Funk It (Funkadelala)
20. You Keep Me Coming Back



The album code is : ODI174035

Helene Rolles - Je m'appelle (1993) | Young MC - Stone Cold Rhymin' (1989) | Status Quo - Bula Quo (2013) Lossless | John Sauli - Tonight Is The Night 1988(APE) | LA PENTOLA | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Aittala - American Nightmare (2016) Fax Ignis - Eponymus (2016) Lossless VA - Walking On The Mountain Paths (2008) Paul Personne, Robben Ford, 'Bumblefoot' Ron Thal - Lost In Paris Blues Band (2016) Zero Nine - Eyes On The Rear-View Mirror (2006) Zero Nine - N.E. Files (2004) Katrina & The Waves - Katrina & The Waves (1985) / Waves (1986) [1996, Remastered Reissue] Prince - I Love Prince (Classic Mixes) (Volume 1) (2016) Kapitan Korsakov - Physical Violence Is The Least Of My Priorities (2016) Jackdevil - Back To The Garage (2016) Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Once Upon A Time In South America (2015) FLAC Andragonia - Oxygen (2016) Frank Zappa - Meat Light: The Uncle Meat Project/Object (2016) Coral - Thrash And Roll (2016) Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 2" (1993) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Roby Duke "Not The Same" (1992) - CCM / Westcoast Rock- America "Highway - 30 Years Of" (2000) -Folk Pop / Soft Rock / Westcoast Rock- Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)