One of the few American R.I.O. outposts extant during their existence from the mid 80's to the mid 90's, Fot Records during that time issued a spate of these Passed Normal compendiums as a means of documenting some of the crosstown traffic between the R.I.O. scene and a particular iteration of experimental rock as seen through a distinctly American prism that spans from Snakefinger to Eugene Chadbourne. Most of the excitement that's generated on the compilation at hand though is coming courtesy of the non-American contingent, the exception to this rule being the first number out of the gate, a total stunner from a seemingly short-lived outfit named Fred and featuring Amy Denio of the Tone Dogs, whose recently shared album this is in the precise mode of. Other peak bits here include a diamond cut R.I.O. gem in the dancing folkloric style of Samla Mammas Manna and Fred Frith's Gravity/Speechless period served up by a quartet featuring Quebecois R.I.O. stalwarts Rene Lussier and Jean Derome, working together here with avant cellist Tom Cora and R.I.O. godfather and monster drummer Chris Cutler (a slightly different version of a suite from their Three Piece Suite CD). Lussier and Derome also score another winner with a trio in tandem with their Quebecois compadre Robert Lepage, whose lyrical yet wonky clarinet work tugs their track into David Thomas "More Places Forever" territory.

Track listing:

1. Fred with Amy Denio-Golden Rule/Mad Furry Love
2. Peter Blegvad-Shirt & Comb
3. Jeff Kowalkowski-Prelude To Houdini
4. Eric Drew Feldman-One Stray Hair In The Beer
5. Tom Cora-Experts
6. Tom Cora/Chris Cutler/Jean Derome/Rene Lussier-Trois Pommes Г  CotГ© Du Sommeil
7. Edwin Pearce/Secret Dave-Blessed Are The Meek
8. Zozobra-I'm Blind
9. Jeff Michael & Scott Lucas-Space
10. Brave Combo-Tick Tock Polka
11. Blitzoids-Hell Hound
12. The Sediments-Old Man Campo Santo
13. James Mcmanus/Pink Bob/Tom Cora-Sleepy Old Snake
14. Rene Lussier/Robert LePage/Jean Derome-Adieu BiPede
15. Jeff Michael-Chimes
16. Snakefinger-Save Me From Dali (Live)
17. Snakefinger-8 1/4 (Live)
18. Shockabilly-I Keep The KKK In Line
19. Shockabilly-Shockabilly Weekend
20. Skeleton Crew-Killing Time (Live)

Get it via Megaupload

Get it via Rapidshare