« Single: Sub Pop Edition #20 He...
Compilation: Sub Pop 5 »
Covers: The Rising of Yog-Sothoth - A Tribute To Thergothon

Covers: The Rising of Yog-Sothoth - A Tribute To Thergothon

Music Box
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

altFor those who don't know, Thergothon were a band from Finland who formed in 1990. In their short time as a band, they released a demo (Fhtagn-nagh Yog-Sothoth) and a post-humous full-length (Stream From The Heavens). That was enough to make their mark though. Along with Skepticism, Thergothon are one of the first bands to pioneer metal this slow, this mournful, this mysterious. And despite the absolutely terrible quality of their recorded output, it's impossible to deny the majesty of these songs. There is some other-worldly shit going on.

That's where this compilation comes in. It features bands that were heavily influenced by the gods, each covering one track. As Thergothon didn't have many songs to choose from, there are some double-ups which can be kind of fun in choosing your favorite version. The reason I like this so much is because it's nice to hear these songs have a recording quality with an actual backbone and crunch like they were supposed to. My favorite covers here are done by Asunder, Krohm, Evoken and Mournful Congregation. Check it out.

1. Asunder – Who Rides the Astral Wings
2. Officium Triste – Crying Blood and Crimson Snow
3. Evoken – Yet the Watchers Guard
4. Imindain – Everlasting
5. Colosseum – The Unknown Kadath in the Cold Waste
6. Mournful Congregation – Elemental
7. Worship – Evoken
8. Umbra Nihil – The Twilight Fade
9. Persistence In Mourning – Dancing In The Realm Of Shades

1. Nojda – Evoken
2. Otzepenevshiye – The Unknown Kadath in the Cold Waste
3. Krohm – Everlasting
4. Inter Arbores – Who Rides the Astral Wings
5. Astral Sleep – Yet the Watchers Guard
6. Aarni – Verivaikerrus – Hurmehanki
7. Axis Of Advance – Elemental
8. Singultus – The Twilight Fade

DL: The Rising of Yog-Sothoth

The album code is : ODI167692

Mecnun - | jamais | VA - Push | BAJOS | Steven Wilson ��������������������������� Driv | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Osanna – Pape Satan Aleppe (2016) The Lew Thomas Band - Walks, Talks & Fallouts (2016) Wild Cherry - Wild Cherry (1976) Wild Cherry - Electrified Funk (1977) Locomotive Man - The Coming Storm (2015) Wild Cherry - I Love My Music (1978) VA - Elicuts Vol. 1 (2016) Future Beat Alliance - Hidden Emotion (2016) VA - Secret Map v.I (2016) Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green - Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green (2CD) (2008) Kay Webb Orchestra - Gitarrentraume In Gold (1979) Jack Fred with Band - Mood Music / Saxophon (2003) Golden Nightingale Orchestra - Golden Accordeon Melodies (1988) Achillea - The Nine Worlds (2005) MP3 + Lossless Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)