« Best of Bowie: 1992 and beyond
Mark Sultan - $ (2010) »
Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Dirty Shirt Rock 'N' Roll - The First Ten Years (2010)

Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Dirty Shirt Rock 'N' Roll - The First Ten Years (2010)

Pop New Wave Dance
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info


1. Chicken Dog
2. Magical Colors
3. Money Rock'N'Roll
4. Love Ain't On The Run
5. Blues X Man
6. Buscemi
7. Bellbottoms
8. History Of Sex
9. Fuck Shit Up
10. Leave Me Alone So I Can Rock Again
11. Shake 'Em On Down (Edit)
12. Train #2
13. Water Main
14. Hell
15. Wail (Video Mix)
16. Afro
17. Greyhound
18. Talk About The Blues
19. Flavor (Remix)
20. Feeling Of Love

Led by a refugee from the D.C. punk scene who rejected Dischord for its austerity and embraced the blues for its theatricality, the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion found a way to mix musical styles into a potent cocktail. The band's basic riff is simple: Drummer Russell Simins pounds out brutal rhythms, guitarist Judah Bauer pummels repeated riffs mercilessly, and Spencer channels a frenzied mix of Elvis, Little Richard, and Ross Johnson. With no regard for the previous generation's interpretation of the blues-- Spencer is a living affront to Eric Clapton-- the Blues Explosion take everything tasteless and dangerous and ugly and irredeemable in rock and run with it. Their music is highly crafted and gloriously messy, heavily conceptual but still visceral, serious while also being funny. Nearly two decades after their formation, their music has outlived its superficial provocations and hits with a force that is perhaps even greater now than it was the first time around.

Dirty Shirt Rock 'n' Roll surveys the years between their 1992 debut and 2002's Plastic Fang. Unlike the consistently name-checked and beloved Pavement, another Matador band with a new retrospective in stores, the Blues Explosion seem ripe for re-evaluation. The early-2000s garage rock revival and the success of the White Stripes have given us a new context to hear these disarrayed blues-rock excursions, which similarly peel back the layers to get to rock's core elements.

In the 1990s, however, when Spencer was a contemporary of Steve Malkmus, Robert Pollard, and Mac MacCaughan, this music sounded so far removed from any particular scene that the band could be easily dismissed as an anomaly. In retrospect, Spencer's real peers may have been the Afghan Whigs' Greg Dulli and Beck, artists who had very specific ideas about how to transform African-American music traditions into a personal style that made sense to the alt-rock nation. Unlike either of them, Spencer borrowed almost exclusively from pre-Beatles sources: blaring mid-century blues riffs, outlandish vocals from some fever dream of the 50s, and no truck with niceties like song structure. Tracks like "Chicken Dog" (a great duet with the late Rufus Thomas) and the slithery "Afro" meander aggressively, as if demanding and daring you to keep up. "Bellbottoms", one of JSBX's better-known singles, doesn't even get started until nearly two minutes in, by which time the band has been hammering away next to a string arrangement by Lalo Schifrin. The song screeches to a halt and peels out again in the direction of a terrifically catchy call-and-response chant. How do the two halves connect? These guys could care less.

As the decade wore on, the Blues Explosion began tinkering with their fairly austere sound, which lead to collaborations with Dan the Automator and Alec Empire. If at the time they seemed to have lost the thread, Dirty Shirt Rock 'n' Roll argues that they still held firm to their core values. Moving back and forth in time, with no regard whatsoever for intelligible chronology, the comp holds together remarkably well, like a good live setlist or a friend's mixtape. Guests from Beck to hard-living R&B legend Andre Williams sit naturally with the Blues Explosion's sparer guitar-drums-Theremin breakdowns, suggesting that for all their reliance on decades-old styles and gestures, these gloriously messy songs live in the present. Whatever you or Spencer or anyone else calls it, this music is just as exciting and alienating now as it was then.

http://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/140 ... ten-years/

The album code is : ODI159618

Ottmar Liebert - The Santa Fe Sessions (2003) | Richard Jon Smith - You And Me | VA - Dimitri From Paris Disco Forever The Sound Of Underground Disco 2oo8- | VA - Italo Disco New Vol. 1-6 | Funky Funky New York - Rare and unreissued NY funk 1969-1976 | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Aaron Pritchett - Body Of Work: A Collection Of Hits (2016) Dracma – Limits (1994) Billy Ray Cyrus – Trail Of Tears (1996) Daft Punk - TRON: Legacy OST [Special Edition] 2CD (2010) Lossless + MP3 Vampyrsgard - Phantom Der Nacht (2015) Dracma – A Fine Stormy Weather (1996) Janis Joplin - Pearl (1970/2012) [HDtracks] VA - Soulful House Journey: Mixed & Selected by Reelsoul (2014) VA - Street King Presents Amsterdam 2016 (2016) Blue - Roulette (2013) Greg Howe - Ascend (1999) Sevine - Je grandis (2016) Roy Ayers - Mahogany Vibe (2004), 320 Kbps MSM Schmidt - Utopia (2015) Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 2" (1993) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Roby Duke "Not The Same" (1992) - CCM / Westcoast Rock- America "Highway - 30 Years Of" (2000) -Folk Pop / Soft Rock / Westcoast Rock- Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP Bobby King & Terry Evans - Live And Let Live - Complete LP Sam Fan Thomas - Makassi - Complete LP Goddy Oku - One More Chance - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)